Top 10 Books that Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught YA Contemporary 101

toptentuesday

Hello and welcome to my first Top 10 Tuesday list, which is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Since everyone seems to love lists, I’ve decided to join in on the fun!

This weeks topic: Books that would be on my syllabus if I taught YA contemporary 101.

I know YA contemporary is a pretty wide range of books, so I’m going to choose 10 of my absolute favorite contemporary novels.

  1. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia- I love this book so much! There aren’t very many YA books dealing with schizophrenia, and this one was amazing! I loved the main character Alex, and the light romance between her and Miles. A very unique and interesting read!
  2. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira- This was one of my first introductions to YA, and it’s still one of my absolute favorites. The writing is beautiful and intriguing, the characters are complex, and the plot is well-structured and fascinating. I don’t think I have ever cried so hard over a book before.
  3. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han- As I’ve mentioned before, this book is an absolute must-read to those of you who are new to YA. The story and characters are so adorable!
  4. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas- This book is definitely in my top 10 of all time. It’s a pychological thriller, and you will find yourself entranced, hopelessly confused, and creeped out with the world that Haas created, maybe even all at once. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough!
  5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky- Another tear-jerker. Also one of my favorites, even though I normally don’t like books that are written in letters. I loved Charlie and related to him so much throughout his journey. Plus, the film adaptation is amazing!
  6. Looking for Alaska John Green- My definite favorite John Green novel. In fact, though I love all of his books, The Fault in our Stars was my least favorite. Looking for Alaska is another one of my favorite books of all time. I cried so hard!
  7. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli- This book is SO ADORABLE. Seriously. I loved everything about it. The characters, the emails, the romance. I especially loved Simon’s parents–they were so kind and supportive, which in my opinion, we don’t see a lot of in YA. I definitely recommend this book!
  8. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart- THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. It’s in my top 5. I can’t tell you much about it, because that would be spoiling, but just know that it’s much better to go in blind. You will not see the plot twist coming. Simply mindblowing.
  9. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven- Another one in my top 5. I love this book so, so much, and I connected with and related to the characters so much throughout the story. I can’t recommend this book enough. I had tears streaming down my cheeks for the majority of the book, and this story is so moving and enlightening. I can honestly say that it changed my life for the better.
  10. Volition by Lily Paradis- If you’re looking for a unique book, this one is for you. It obviously isn’t for everyone, but I loved it. *WARNING: EXTREME TEAR-JERKER ALERT!* You want to go into this book blind, so I can’t tell you much. I will, however, give you the synopsis because IT’S JUST SO BEAUTIFUL.

You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at first, and all at once shreds every fiber of your being?

It’s because you’re contradicting the universe.

Everything lines up so perfectly that you couldn’t have imagined it to work out better, but then you have to go and do everything humanly possible to ruin it because you can’t stand to have it go right?

That’s what I did.

I did it because there’s a darkness that surrounds me, and I think I want it there.

My name is Tate McKenna, and my soul is blacker than my heart.

-Goodreads.com description

Doesn’t that sound amazing?!! I also encourage you to read the author’s note beforehand, because I think it will affect your reading experience a lot.

So…that’s it for my first TTT List! Have you read any of these? What are your thoughts on them? What books did you put on your list this week? Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Books that Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught YA Contemporary 101

  1. I read We Were Liars about 6 months ago….and I still get chills thinking about it. I’m glad my daughter convinced me to read it.

    Like

    • Yes! Dangerous Girls was SO good and SO confusing. In the beginning I thought I knew who the killer was, but as the book went on I started to doubt myself. Turns out I was right in the beginning! And YES, you NEED to read Made You Up and The Perks of Being a Wallflower immediately. Soooo good!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

