Mini Reviews: Throne of Glass and Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

13519397

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 4.5 stars

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

-Goodreads.com description

 My Thoughts:
I loved this book so much! I wasn’t very interested until after the first 100 pages, but after that, I couldn’t put it down! I normally steer away from fantasy, so I wouldn’t normally read something like this, but once again, I gave into the hype monster and I’m so glad I did. The characters were all so unique and interesting, the plot was complex and layered, and the writing was amazing. I loved the main character, Celaena, with all her flaws and strengths. I’m so excited to read the rest of the series!
13477676
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
Rating: 4 stars

Today is Leonard Peacock’s birthday. It is also the day he hides a gun in his backpack. Because today is the day he will kill his former best friend, and then himself, with his grandfather’s P-38 pistol.

But first he must say good-bye to the four people who matter most to him: his Humphrey Bogart-obsessed next-door neighbor, Walt; his classmate, Baback, a violin virtuoso; Lauren, the Christian homeschooler he has a crush on; and Herr Silverman, who teaches the high school’s class on the Holocaust. Speaking to each in turn, Leonard slowly reveals his secrets as the hours tick by and the moment of truth approaches.

In this riveting look at a day in the life of a disturbed teenage boy, acclaimed author Matthew Quick unflinchingly examines the impossible choices that must be made—and the light in us all that never goes out.

 -Goodreads.com description
 My Thoughts: 
This book was so unique and honest in the way the author told it. The main character, Leonard, was one of the loneliest people I’ve ever met. He’s weird, incredibly smart, and deeply flawed. Through his eyes, we experience this 24-hour period where he plans to kill himself and his former friend. This book is sad, no doubt, but it’s also very important and I think every teen (or adult) should read it. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed Thirteen Reasons Why, Falling Into Place, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.
So, as you can see, I really enjoyed both of these. Have you read either of them? What did you think? Let me know in the comments! 😀
4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Throne of Glass and Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

  1. Oh Throne of Glass. How I love thee so very much. Keep reading, they get better book by book in my opinion.
    I don’t read a lot of contemporary YA usually but I read Every Day by David Levithan recently so might have to start now… hehe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay, I’m so excited to read the rest of the series! 😀 Haha that’s pretty much the opposite of me: I read a ton of contemporary and hardly any fantasy. I haven’t read Every Day yet, but I’ve been wanting to! I’ll be moving it farther up my endless TBR list now. 😉

      Like

  2. I started a great series recently. It’s called “Make Sure You Do Your Homework Before Blogging” and it’s by a little-known (but locally popular) author by the name of MOM.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap {3} | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

