The Nostalgic Book Review Tag

Hi guys! I was recently tagged by Jenna @ Reading With Jenna to do my first book tag! Thanks so much, Jenna. If you haven’t checked her blog out yet, you should, because it’s awesome! The Nostalgic Book Review Tag was originally created by Read Think Ponder. 

Guidelines:

In this tag, you will be writing a review on a book that you read three or more years ago. You will be reviewing the book purely from memory.

  • Summary: Provide a summary of the book, including approximately when you read it, without consulting Google or the book itself.
  • Thoughts: Share your thoughts on the book, from memory
  • Epilogue: Look up a summary of the book and share your thoughts on what you did or didn’t remember/current feelings about the book.

Rules:

  • Remember to link back to Read Think Ponder’s post.
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag other bloggers – it’s up to you how many!
  • Don’t look up the book when you are writing your Summary/Thoughts.

*****

3

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

Published by Scholastic on November 1st 2003

Pages: 310

Genre(s): Children’s Fantasy

Rating: 5 stars

Summary:

Harry Potter is this ordinary boy who lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia, and step-brother Dudley, who are really mean to him and Harry has to live with them because both his parents died when he was a baby. Oh, and fun fact: he also has a lightening scar on his forehead. Which may or may not have to do with his parent’s deaths.

Anyway, on Harry’s eleventh birthday, he gets a letter addressed to him from a Wizarding School named “Hogwarts.” He doesn’t believe that he’s a wizard, obviously, until this half-giant named Hagrid comes to Harry’s house and brings him to Hogwarts. There, he meets Ron, Hermione, Draco Malfoy, and a variety of other characters. Harry learns all about the Wizarding World, like how to cast spells, make potions, and play Quidditch (I think I spelled that right). Harry discovers that there’s a vicious dog named Fluffy somewhere in Hogwarts, and finds out that it’s guarding something valuable or dangerous, so with the help of Ron and Hermione, they discover what Fluffy is hiding and (possibly?) save the whole school from being tragically murdered.

My Thoughts:

I remember when my mom came home from the library about three years ago with a stack of books, the one on the top labelled, “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.” I was doubtful at first, because back then, (which really wasn’t too long ago) I wasn’t very interested in reading. I read the first chapter and loved it. Then the second, and I loved it even more. Harry Potter was a series that truly changed my life for the better. I read all seven books three times each, and literally read nothing else besides Harry Potter for about 10 months, claiming that NO BOOK THAT I WILL EVER READ WILL COME CLOSE to the magic that happened when I first read the series. But, guess what? It happened. I found series that I loved even more than Harry Potter.

So, seeing that this series changed my life and was the reason for me becoming a bookworm, it obviously deserves 5 stars. And I’m definitely not the only one who has been truly changed by this series.

So, if you haven’t read (or finished) this series yet, my advice to you is: GO READ IT RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!! (No pressure 😉 )

Since I read this book over three years ago, I don’t remember too much about it, like the writing style, characters, etc. I do, however, remember laughing out loud on multiple occasions. And wanting my very own pet hippogriff. Oh, and wanting to marry Harry Potter.

So, my final thought? Go read this book now. A solid 5 stars from me.

Epilogue:

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

-Goodreads.com description

Well, that summary didn’t give us much information. I was pretty spot-on in my summary, but I also neglected a semi-important detail: I, um, kinda watched the movie less than three years ago. That still counts, right?

I also forgot that Dudley is Harry’s cousin, not his step-brother. Which is pretty stupid of me, considering the fact that I remembered that he lived with his aunt and uncle.

Oh, and I also kinda forgot about the cupboard under the stairs. Which is an extremely important detail. Sorry, Harry Potter fans!

Well, that was fun! I hope you guys enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it! 😀 Thanks again, Jenna, for tagging me for my very first tag!

I Tag:

Sorry if I tag you and you don’t do tags, or if you’ve already done this tag. This is my first time doing a tag, so I’m just figuring things out! Also, if you want me to tag you in future tags, just let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “The Nostalgic Book Review Tag

  1. This looks like a pretty cool tag! 🙂 thanks for tagging me. Also this series saved me. It got me back to reading and i’ll forever love Harry Potter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Nostalgic Book Review Tag | Read, Think, Ponder

  3. I wasn’t into reading very much when Harry Potter first came out. In fact I was even pretty snobbish about it when the world was at its heels – thinking it was just some mediocre work and that it wouldn’t be as good as R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps (OH HOW NAIVE I WAS). I actually first read it last year, from start to finish in one week, and man it was so, so, so, so, so, so good. I now understand why people’s lives were changed by this book. If I were nine years old or eleven and read this, I would want to be in Hogwarts and I would want an owl and I would want to have friends like Harry, Hermione and Ron. Heck, I’m 22 now and I just want to be a part of this world! ❤

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Weekly Recap {3} | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

