Weekly Recap {5}

Hi guys! I hope you all had an amazing week! 😀

My life has been pretty uneventful this week, but I did have two tests (ugh), a super-hard swim practice this morning (I’m seriously about ready to fall asleep right now), and a ton of homework. Um, yay?

Oh, and Wednesday was also supposed to be the first day of fall. WHICH I REFUSE TO BELIEVE. Seriously, how could it be fall in Santa Barbara when it’s in the 80s or 90s every day? I can’t remember the last time it was this hot for this long in Santa Barbara.

I also drew (wrote?) a paper that has a bunch of my favorite quotes. How many of these quotes do you recognize? Click on it if you want to enlarge it.

image1

Anyway, I only read one book this week, Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. My reading level has gone down a lot lately, and I fear I’m getting into a reading slump! 😦

23164983

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was the surprise best seller of 2011—an unprecedented mix of YA fantasy and vintage photography that enthralled readers and critics alike. Publishers Weekly called it “an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.”

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.

-Goodreads.com description

Overall, I enjoyed this book, but not nearly as much as the first one. It was still creepy and suspenseful, and it had me hooked the whole time, but it was lacking the mystery that the first book had. A solid 4 stars from me.

Currently Reading:

17675462

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

-Goodreads.com description

I also started reading The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater. It sounds exactly like the kind of book that I would like, but even though I absolutely had to buy it about 2 years ago, I still haven’t read it yet. I’m only a few chapters in, and so far, it’s really good but really confusing. This is how I first felt about Throne of Glass too….hopefully I’ll begin to understand it more soon?

Reading Next:

I honestly have no idea. I might get The Dream Thieves from the library if I really like The Raven Boys, which I probably will, but other than that, I’m not sure. There are a few other books that have been sitting on my shelf for a while and I haven’t read them yet, so those are some more possibilities….

My posts this week:

Around the blogosphere:

I hope you had a great week! Did you read any great books recently that I should know about? What were your thoughts on The Raven Boys and Hollow City if you’ve read them? Oh, and tell me: what are most interesting types of posts you like to read? (Top Ten Tuesday, tags, reviews, book hauls, etc.) What would you like to see more of on this blog? Please let me know below because I’m really curious to know how I can try to improve my posts. Thanks so much! 😀

2 thoughts on “Weekly Recap {5}

  1. Aww, thanks for sharing my post! 😀 And omg THE RAVEN BOYS IS MY FAVOURITE BOOK EVER I REALLY HOPE YOU END UP LIKING IT. I think it is a bit confusing at the beginning?! But it totally gets better. I think Blue Lily is the BEST of them. :’) So my Raven Boy love from me, tbh. hehe. Hope you get some rest after all that swimming too! 😀 And omg I’m in Australia and it is FREEZING here when we’re supposed to be having Spring!! So the weather is messed up on all sides. *nods*

    Like

    • You’re very welcome, Cait! Aw much thanks so much for The Raven Boys love! 😉 I’m only 8 chapters in and I’m already hooked! I’m basically THE LAST HUMAN ON EARTH TO EVER READ MAGGIE STIEFVATER, so I figured I’d give it a shot. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

