Banned Books Week! Watch This Powerful Video about Authors Standing Up For Free Speech

Hi guys! Today at school my English teacher discussed Banned Books Week, and I thought it was really interesting, so I had to share it with you! Basically, Banned Books Week was created in order to draw attention to the issue of censorship. All across the country, amazing books have been banned in schools and libraries, and this celebration was designed to honor our freedom to read. For more information about the event, visit the site here.

Anyway, my class was shown this video to recognize this important week, which I think you’ll find very interesting. If you’re like me, you’ll recognize most – if not all – of these authors.

I found this video shocking because all of the authors mentioned have written amazing works of literature, and kids all across the country have been denied the opportunity to read them. Most people might not see this as a real issue, but in my eyes, it’s cruel that kids aren’t being allowed to read amazing, or even life-changing books.

To view the top 100 banned/challenged books, click here. This list is from 2000-2009, but it should give you a general idea.

Most of these books have been banned because of parents or teachers labeling them “too mature” or “inappropriate.” I can understand that some parents or kids might feel uncomfortable about reading certain books, which is completely fine, and they should definitely put the book down. However, if a kid wants to read a book that has an overall positive message and is given permission to read it by their parent or teacher, then they should be encouraged, not discouraged, from doing so. Many of the books on the top 100 most frequently banned books I’ve read and enjoyed, and a few of them have even changed my life. And no one should ever be denied the opportunity to experience what it’s like to have their life changed by a good piece of literature.

I’d love to hear your thoughts! What is your perspective on this issue? Do you agree with me? Disagree? Either way, please let me know below! 😀

One thought on “Banned Books Week! Watch This Powerful Video about Authors Standing Up For Free Speech

  1. Pingback: 2015 End of Year Book Survey! | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

