Event Recap: Book Signing With Patrick Ness!

Guys. GUYS. I just met Patrick Ness. And it was seriously awesome. AWESOMESAUCE, GUYS. He’s such a nice, funny, all around-awesome guy. The kind of author who inspires you to not only read more, but to write more too. Though I love writing, it’s sometimes hard for me to get enough motivation to finish or continue writing my short stories or novels, so this event really motivated and inspired me.

image9

Whenever I’m about to go to an author event, I get kind of nervous. Most likely, the books that I’ve read from this author have really moved me. Enlightened me. Made me think. Changed me, even. And because of this, my favorite authors have come to be my role models, my idols, my superheroes (yes, I know that sounds stupid, but it’s true, okay?). I constantly fantasize about having conversations with authors, of meeting them, even of becoming friends with them. And when I finally find out that this actually might be a possibility? Well, first of all, I kind of go crazy. Jump-up-and-down crazy. Flailing. Yelping. Extreme fangirling. The reaction that most of you guys have probably had on many occasions when it comes to books.

But then….

I get super nervous. Why, you ask? This person that I’m going to meet is someone I’ve looked up to so much. They’ve been so amazing and influential as a writer, so why can’t they be just as amazing as a person? But, what if they aren’t? What if someone you’ve looked up to so much just….isn’t as amazing in person? Though this has never been the case for me, it still scares me. Because there are few things as crushing as finding out that your role model or idol isn’t the person we dreamt them up to be.

Anyway, this has become more of a ramble than an event recap, so…..on to the next half of the post!

image6   image7

There were only about 30 or 40 people at the event, which really surprised me, because I thought there would be way more. Also, I was the only kid. Seriously, there weren’t even teenagers! I actually made some adult friends discussing the Throne of Glass series, which was pretty cool for me.

First of all, Aaron Hartzler and Patrick Ness were both introduced, and we started off the event with Patrick reading us an excerpt from The Rest of Us Just Live Here, which was fabulous. It was so funny and well-written, and everyone was laughing out loud! Then Aaron Hartzler did a Q&A with Patrick Ness regarding TRoUJLH. They were both such fantastic people, and so nice and hilarious! Patrick Ness has a way of talking that you can kind of tell he’s an author – he words everything so carefully and thoroughly. If that makes any sense.

I bought all of his books that I don’t already own: The Chaos Walking trilogy, A Monster Calls, and The Rest of Us Just Live Here. And I’m SO EXCITED to read them, especially the Chaos Walking trilogy! I’ve heard almost all amazing things from all of his books, and I gave his other book, More Than This, 5 stars, so I’m sure I’ll love them. And I bought them all just in time for Halloween!

image1   image2

Aren’t they gorgeous??? Seriously, I could just stare at these beauties all day long.

image3  image4  image5

Next was the signing. I told Patrick about my blog, and how much I loved More Than This. We had a nice conversation – and trust me, we had time, because I was pretty much the only person that bought all his books! He signed all my books with a different message, which was really nice, but these three were my favorites:

  • To Paige – Who bought the set!
  • To Paige- Who gave me 5 stars! (I told him about how I gave More Than This 5 stars)
  • To Paige – That girl and her books (My blog url)

If you haven’t yet heard about TRoUJLH, here’s the synopsis:

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

Award-winning writer Patrick Ness’s bold and irreverent novel powerfully reminds us that there are many different types of remarkable.

-Goodreads.com description

Anyway, I really had a great time, and the event definitely surpassed my expectations. Totally worth the 6+ hours of driving!

What’s your favorite book by Patrick Ness? Which one do you think I should start with? Do you ever get nervous before author events for the same reasons I do? Or am I just weird like that? I’d love to hear your thoughts! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Event Recap: Book Signing With Patrick Ness!

  1. So jealous you met Patrick Ness! The Rest of us Just Live Here is brilliant 🙂 also I definitely get nervous meeting authors I admire, was so nervous waiting in the queue when I met Cassandra Clare as I love her so much! It’s so weird (and awesome) being in front of someone whose world you’ve lived in for hours of your time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, that makes me so excited to read TRoUJLH! I’ve heard pretty much no bad things about it so that’s something to look forward to. 🙂 I’ve actually never read anything by Cassandra Clare, but I’m planning to because I’ve been getting more into fantasy lately! 😀 And yes, I totally agree with you – it’s so amazing to be able to see and meet someone whose world you’ve been obsessing over so much!

      Like

    • Yes, it was SO AMAZING. I’ll probably be starting with A Monster Calls, since a) it’s horror and Halloween is coming up, and b) the size isn’t as intimidating as his other books. Thanks so much, I know I will! 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

