Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon and Book Haul!

x35G-e1T

Hello everyone! I hope you are all having an amazing week! ❀

Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon is an event I’ve been waiting for for a long time – and it’s my first ever read-a-thon! I’ve been wanting to do one for a long time, but as a new blogger, I never really found out about them before they had already started. XD

If you haven’t participated before and are wondering what it’s all about, check out the official website. Basically, the goal of the read-a-thon is for you to spend 24 hours reading, while you update your progress on Goodreads, your blog, or any other kind of social media. You can also chat with other people doing the read-a-thon, participate in challenges, and earn prizes!

My Goals!

My goal is 8 hours of reading because I’ll be at a swim meet that morning so I don’t have time to participate in the full 24 hours. Even 10 hours is probably pushing it, because I’m going to be so tired after my meet that I could quite possibly fall asleep after 30 minutes. But it’s the thought that counts, right? πŸ˜‰

Anyway, the read-a-thon is taking place this Saturday, and I’m super excited! I’ll be posting updates on this blog every couple hours or so (unless I fall asleep, of course XD).

I don’t really have any goals in terms of how many books I’m going to read because I’ve never participated in a read-a-thon before and don’t have much experience with that kind of stuff. However, I just had a pretty decent-sized library and bookstore haul, so I have a lot of possibilities for books I could read. I’ve heard that it’s best to pick out short-ish and really fast-paced books in order to keep yourself interested and occupied the whole time.

Book Haul!

Purchased:

image1Β  Β image1-2

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness // The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness // Of Monsters and Men by Patrick Ness // The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness // A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness // Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake // Delicate Monsters by Stephanie Kuehn

I’ve already read Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake and A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, and I loved both of them! I have yet to read the rest of these books I mentioned.

image1-1

Jellicoe Road by Melinda Marchetta // The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan // Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire SΓ‘enz // Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater // Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour // A Pearl In the Storm: How I Found My Heart In the Middle of the Ocean by Tori Murden McClure

What are you reading this weekend? Do you want another cheerleader during the read-a-thon? If so, leave the link to your blog or you Goodreads username below and I’ll be sure to cheer you on! Have you read any of the books I acquired in my latest book haul? Which ones would you recommend the most for the read-a-thon? I’d love to hear from you in the comments! πŸ™‚ ❀

17 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon and Book Haul!

  1. Hi there! This is your first Read-a-thon? Best of luck! It’s true that short-ish and face-paced books are usually best for 1-day read-a-thons (The fast action helps you read faster in some cases, based on personal experience! And the shorter the book means it takes less time to read so you can polish off several books in a short time!)

    The biggest thing though, is not to stress! Any reading done is good reading. :3 don’t feel like you have to rush or read a certain number of books or force yourself to read for a certain number of hours. Some people do, do these things (Myself included this year, for the ‘certain number of books’ thing!) but there’s no reason to stress out if you run behind on your reading. :3 Hope you enjoy whatever you read for the read-a-thon and good luck with your meet as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the awesome advice! I’ll definitely keep this in mind πŸ™‚ Read-a-thons are supposed to be fun, not to make you stress out, so I definitely agree with you. Thanks so much, and I hope you have an awesome weekend too! ❀

      Like

  2. Welcome to your 1st Dewey’s Readathon! You’ll have to let me know if “The Rest of Us Just Live Here” and “Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe”! I’ve got the 1st one on my TBR, and I’ve been considering adding the 2nd to my wishlist.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap {6} and Dewey’s Read-a-Thon Wrap-Up | Page By Paige

  4. Pingback: Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

