Weekly Recap {6} and Dewey’s Read-a-Thon Wrap-Up

Hi guys! I hope your weekend is treating you well! 😉

I normally post my Weekly Recaps on Saturdays instead of Sundays, but I was busy with the 24-hour read-a-thon yesterday, so I didn’t get a chance to. I had a wonderful time participating in Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon yesterday, and I hit my goal of reading for eight hours straight! I know this is nothing compared to most people, but it felt like a huge accomplishment to me, probably because I’d never done a read-a-thon before and was practically falling asleep after my swim meet. I read about 1 1/2 books during those eight hours: Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour and the first half of The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, and I loved both of them.

OH, and the most important news from this event (to me, at least XD): I WON A PRIZE! Every hour, the team at Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon selected a few readers from random to earn a prize! My prize was a free Book of the Month membership for three months, and I’m so excited to get my first book!

Yesterday I also had a swim meet, which went pretty well. I dropped in two of my events, so I was pretty pleased with myself. 😉 Oh, and I also got to participate in two relays! They were both really fun, and the feeling of being part of a team like that was so amazing. ❤

But WAIT, I’ve got more big news! This morning, I went to get glasses! At first, I was really stressed out because I couldn’t find any pairs that looked good on me, but after about an hour, I finally found a pair that suited me pretty well, if I do say so myself. 🙂 They’ll definitely take some getting used to because my prescription is really high, but even my first day wearing them has been absolutely life-changing.

Anyway, on to the books!

18667779

A love letter to the craft and romance of film and fate in front of—and behind—the camera from the award-winning author of Hold Still.
 
A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.
 
Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.

-Goodreads.com description

I read this book yesterday, and is seriously amazing. I LOVED Emi, Charlotte, and Ava, and they were all so adorable and unique. I also loved learning about the world of set designing and film, and it was so interesting and enlightening! Solid 4 stars.

Currently Reading:

6043848

Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?

-Goodreads.com description

Reading Next:

It depends on what I think of The Knife of Never Letting Go. If I enjoy it, I will read the next book in the trilogy. Other possibilities include Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and The Martian.

My Posts This Week:

Around the Blogosphere:

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon Wrap-up!

Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 17. It was the last hour for me and it was 10pm and I was EXHAUSTED.
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Anything short, sweet, or fact-paced. Some examples might include A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway, and Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope, I don’t think so. It was really fun, and everyone was really supportive. AND I GOT A PRIZE. So yeah, no suggestions.
What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The cheerleaders were awesome! And I really looked forward to the hourly posts with challenges and prizes. Overall, very encouraging atmosphere!
How many books did you read? Like, 1 1/2? Still, it was only in 8 hours instead of the full 24, so I was still pretty proud of myself.
What were the names of the books you read? Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour and The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.
Which book did you enjoy most? I loved ELTY soooo much, and TKoNLG is good so far, but kind of slow for my taste. I’m sure I’ll get into it soon though, because I loved his other books.
Which did you enjoy least? I loved both of them, so instead of torturing myself, I’m just not going to answer that question. 😉
If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I wasn’t a cheerleader this year, but I definitely want to next year! You guys were all wonderful. ❤
How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? YES, YES, YES. I had so much fun! This has been such an amazing experience as my first read-a-thon. Next year, I’d like to be a reader and a cheerleader.

So…..let’s talk. I hope you are all having a fantastic week! Did you read any great books recently that I should know about? Did you participate in Dewey’s Read-a-Thon yesterday? How did it go for you? I’d love to hear from you! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Weekly Recap {6} and Dewey’s Read-a-Thon Wrap-Up

  1. Oh, Paige you’re a sweetheart! Thank you for mentioning my post here in your blog! And congratulations for all the read-along accomplishments, that’s awesome!
    As for Patrick Ness… AREN’T HIS BOOKS JUST INCREDIBLE?! The Knife of Never Letting Go blew me away and it even made me cry like a damn baby. Same goes for A Monster Calls.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww, thanks for linking to my post! *dances with happiness* YOU ARE SO NICE!
    And I’m glad you’re liking The Knife of Never Letting Go! I ADORE THAT BOOK. Although it did take me a little while to get into the flow of the weird spelling and everything?! But after that = so much love. Ness is a genius!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe you’re very welcome! I couldn’t resist sharing your fabulous post! 😀 And yes, it did take me a while to get used to the weird spelling and format, but now I just love it. Ness is a seriously amazing writer! 🙂

      Like

    • I KNOW, RIGHT?!! I usually have really bad luck and basically never win anything, but the one time I did, it was for my first read-a-thon! AND THE PRIZE WAS BOOKS. So basically, I’m one happy camper! 🙂 And I’m really looking forward to April too.

      Yes, yes, YES! The Knife of Never Letting Go is seriously amazing. It took me a while to really get into his weird writing style and format and everything, but once I did, I was hooked.

      Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

