Encouraging Thunder Award

encouraging-thunder

I was nominated for this award a while ago, but didn’t have the chance to do it until now, so sorry about that! I was tagged by the fantastic Bree @ The Literary Hellion. If you haven’t already, please do yourselves a favor by checking out this awesome blog! Thanks so much for tagging me, Bree; it really means a lot to me.

ANYWAY. The main question of this post is, “Why did you decide to start a blog?”

I first got into reading in first grade, when I started The Magic Treehouse series. I was seriously obsessed with it, and read every single book in the series. For a while after that I couldn’t get into any other books or series, so I wasn’t much of a bookworm for a few years.

Fast-forward a few years, when I was in 4th grade. I wasn’t much of a reader, but when I did read it was mostly contemporaries, so I was pretty skeptical when my mom brought home a stack of books from the library, the book on the top labeled, “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.” But she claimed I would love it, so I gave it a try. And love it I did. From then on, I was hooked with reading.

So you’re probably thinking, Okay, that’s cool, but what does this have to do with why you started a blog? This is supposed to be about blogging, not reading. And I totally get you. But to start a blog, you’re supposed to be passionate about something, right? Blogging is my way of releasing my thoughts and feelings into the world, as well as meeting some great people and reading great books!

Okay, I’ll admit: Before I was a blogger, I kind of hated writing. I was pretty good at it, sure, but it always took so long and I felt like I didn’t have any good ideas. Now, only 2 months later, I absolutely love writing and blogging. While writing assignments used to take me hours to complete, they now come easily to me, and are finished in less than half as much time as they used to take. I owe this entirely to my blogging experience, however short it may be. Blogging has taught me so many things that I now use in my life, more than I could have ever imagined. So, I would just like to take the time to thank everyone who has made my experience so far as a blogger and writer so much more fun and successful. You guys seriously rock, and I would never have been writing this post today if it weren’t for you.

This award/ramble is turning out to be a lot longer than I anticipated it to be, so I would just like to sum up why I chose to be a blogger in a more straightforward way:

  • It allows me to connect with the blogger community. I’ve met so many amazing people in my experience, which I was really looking forward to when I made my decision to become a blogger.
  • I LOVE BOOKS! Now, this point should be pretty obvious. But what better way to find new books and suggest books to people who WILL ACTUALLY LISTEN TO MY SUGGESTIONS than creating a blog of my own?
  • Um, honestly? The free books. I’ve always gotten so jealous when I heard of people getting ARCs, and now I actually have a chance of getting a few of my own! I know that getting ARCs is definitely not the most important part of being a book blogger, but it certainly is a fun added bonus. 😉
  • It will improve my writing skills. It already has, and it’s only been 2 months! I’ve learned that in order to enjoy writing, (or for me, at least), you need to write about something you’re passionate about, good or bad. It has taught me that I shouldn’t be afraid of being critical, and that everyone has their own opinion on something, and that this shouldn’t influence or affect my writing.
  • I can release my passions (good and bad) into the world. Though I do love all my friends very much, most of them have slightly, erm……different tastes in reading as me. Which is completely okay! With blogging, I can ramble and rant as much as I want, and everyone is so wonderful and welcoming and pretty much okay (I hope?) about it! Once again, another HUGE thank you to all of you. Seriously, you guys are the best. ❤

I tag:

As usual, please feel free to ignore this post if you’ve already done this tag or you don’t want to. I look forward to hearing your answers! 🙂 

7 thoughts on “Encouraging Thunder Award

  1. I love blogging for exactly all the reasons that you love it and joined it for. I’ve always been passionate about writing s I I started blogging to further explore my love for writing as well astro express my love for books! And ARCS are truly the best kind of bonus! 😉
    And thank you for nominating me! You are wonderful 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A Bookish Journey- Encouraging Thunder Award | astrangersguidetonovels

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap {7} | Page By Paige

  4. Pingback: Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

