Now Quoting: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Hi guys! I’ve decided to start doing a weekly feature where I share some of my favorite quotes from books I’ve read. Basically, the purpose of this feature is to recommend a fantastic novel that I haven’t reviewed yet, and share some awesome quotes in the process! Because everyone loves quotes, don’t they? 😀

20820994A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

-Goodreads.com description

imgres-1

“People die, I think, but your relationship with them doesn’t. It continues and is ever-changing.”

*****

“Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.”

*****

Screen-Shot-2015-03-12-at-1.19.10-PM

“This is what I want: I want to grab my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders.”

*****

“Meeting your soul mate is like walking into a house you’ve been in before – you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall, the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to.”

*****

Ill-Give-You-the-Sun-quote

“We wish with our hands, that’s what we do as artists.”

*****

“I gave up practically the whole world for you,” I tell him, walking through the front door of my own love story. “The sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you.”

*****

“Quick, make a wish.
Take a (second or third or fourth) chance.
Remake the world.”

*****

So, let’s talk. What were your thoughts on I’ll Give You the Sun? What quotes would you add to this list? Oh, and what books have you found to be really quotable recently? I’d love to hear from you in the comments! 🙂

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “Now Quoting: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap {7} | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s