Review: Outspoken by Lora Richardson

26567165Outspoken by Lora Richardson

Published by Createspace on August 18th 2015

Pages: 252

Genre(s): YA, Contemporary, Romance

Rating: 3 stars

**I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.**

Penny Beck is a girl who says yes when she means no. She keeps to herself, follows the rules, and does what she’s told. After a disastrous experience with her boyfriend, she’s determined to change from the spineless person she’s always been into the strong woman she wants to become. All she needs is a little practice. On a cross-country trip to check on her grandpa, she strives to become bolder and more outspoken with the strangers she meets. Penny’s plan is to practice saying and doing what she wants without worrying about what anyone else thinks. Then she meets Archer, an introspective loner to whom she finds herself drawn. She realizes she does care what he thinks, very much. Will Penny be able to stick to her plan, or will she revert back to her people-pleasing ways?

-Goodreads.com description

Oh my goodness, it’s my first review request! *ecstatic happy dancing* I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I was when I received this email. That being said, my opinions regarding this book are completely my own, as my reviews always are.

The Characters: I think Penny is someone we can all relate to one way or another, which is very important in a novel in my opinion. Penny was at a time in her life where she was very uncertain and hesitant when making decisions because the last big one she made was a huge mistake. She’s terrified of breaking the rules and affecting others with her actions, and I think a lot of people share this type of experience.

How would I describe Penny? Um….smiley. Friendly. A bit boring, otherwise. Though her character itself wasn’t that intriguing, her thoughts were very relatable and interesting, which I think is the most important thing.

I wasn’t too fond of Archer either; he just seemed a bland to me. While I didn’t like the characters by themselves, I did love their relationship with each other and how I got to see it blossom.

The Plot: Often I struggle with books that aren’t very fast-paced, but I didn’t get bored at any point during this novel. The pacing was great, maybe even a little fast, in my opinion. Though the romance itself developed fairly slowly, the characters’ feelings for each other were obvious from the start. I was okay with this because that’s often what happens in real life. However, I do believe the best and most interesting romances are those in which the characters gradually get to know and like each other, instead of just liking each other right from the start.

One of the problems I had with this book was the character development, or the lack of it. Judging from the Goodreads blurb, I was expecting the book to be about Penny’s growth and transformation, and not just about the romance. I really didn’t see many improvements or changes of her character throughout the book, so that’s what bothered me the most about this novel.

The Writing Style: I, personally, wasn’t a huge fan of the writing style, though I can see why other people would like it. It just seemed a little simplistic to me, and the dialogue felt a bit forced and unnatural. As I read, I had to refrain myself from marking up the text with added punctuation and vocabulary (Commas, commas, COMMAS!).

Final Thought: Though I did have some problems with this book, I definitely enjoyed it as a whole, and I would rate it 3 stars. If you’re looking for a fast-paced YA romance, Outspoken is the way to go!

Let’s talk! What were your thoughts on Outspoken? Let me know below! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Review: Outspoken by Lora Richardson

  1. Pingback: Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

