7 Reasons Why I’d Recommend Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira to Anyone

18140047Love Letters To The Dead by Ava Dellaira

I first read Love Letters to the Dead three years ago, and I absolutely loved it. It was the book that first got me into YA Contemporary, which is now probably my favorite genre. Because of the fact that I read this book three years ago and I don’t remember very much of it, and because I’m too lazy to write a full review on it, I decided to compile a list of why I think everyone would benefit from reading this amazing book.


The Writing.Β 

Seriously, I can’t even begin to explain how gorgeous Dellaira’s prose is. I found myself scrambling throughout the entire book for my quote notebook and my highlighter. (Yes, I highlight my books. Don’t hate, okay? πŸ˜‰ )

Laurel.

I love a narrator that I can really understand and sympathize with, and Laurel definitely has these qualities. Her voice was mature, but not too unrealistic, and her decisions and actions were often flawed, which I think is very important.

ALL THE FEELS.Β 

I know there’s people that specifically avoid books like this for that very reason, but I, particularly, happen to find myself attracted to tear-jerkers. Grief is a very difficult subject to write about, and Dellaira definitely handled it well. In my opinion, the best kind of books are the ones that really make you feel something.

The Unique Concept!

I mean, come on: who isn’tΒ intrigued by the idea of writing letters to dead people? (Actually, I can think of a lot of people who wouldn’t be, but we’re just going to ignore that glaring detail, ‘kay?) This topic is really interesting to me, and it’s cool to see what a strong role all these people had in both Laurel’s and May’s lives. I also loved this unique format, because I normally don’t read books written in letter format, but I really enjoyed how Dellaira handled it.

The Romance.

I loved, loved, loved Laurel and Sky’s relationship! There was no insta-love, and I really enjoyed watching the characters gradually get to know each other. While I didn’t love Sky as a character, I loved to see him with Laurel.

May and Laurel’s Relationship.

Strong sister-sister relationships are something I’d love to see more of in YA, and it was done beautifully in this novel. Laurel’s voice describes some of her past experiences with May, some of them random, and some of them completely magical, which I think mirrors how it works in real life.

The Theme.Β 

One of the most important elements in a good book is the theme. This book really made me think, and caused me to view grief in a different way.


So….let me here your thoughts! What did you think about Love Letters to the Dead? If you’ve read this book, were there any specific quote(s) that resonated with you? What book have you read recently that you’ve found particularly quotable? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments! πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “7 Reasons Why I’d Recommend Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira to Anyone

  1. This book has been on my TBR for longer than I can remember! Probably for this entire year so far! It sounds so good and you have me even further convinced about reading this now. Thank you for this wonderful post, I’ve been meaning to see some feedback on this particular novel because I feel like people don’t talk about it at all!
    😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome, and I’m glad you liked it! Love Letters to the Dead is one of my all-time favorite books, and super underrated in my opinion. The pacing is a bit slow at first, so it took me a while to get used to it because I normally read super fast-paced books, but I think the pacing helped me appreciate the gorgeous writing style and symbolism even more than I would have if it weren’t for the slower pacing, if that makes any sense.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap {8} | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

