Weekly Recap {8}

Hi guys! Sorry for the late post, but I just never got around to doing it yesterday. I hope you all are having a great week! ๐Ÿ™‚

Wow….this has been an insanely busy week for me! So much has been going on for me with school and swim practice, so I haven’t been as active on the blogosphere lately. I’m hoping to get back to my regular schedule this week.

It has also been a seriously fantastic bookish week for me! Like, one of the best bookish weeks ever, I kid you not. I finished 3 books:

  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness-ย Ness’s writing never fails to wow me, and the characters are so realistic and flawed. However, I did feel like the plot was a little lacking. 4 stars.
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sรกenz-ย Oh my goodness gracious, this book was good. The writing was simplistic yet gorgeous, and it reminded me a bit of Stephen Chbosky’s prose. I immediately fell in love with the characters, and the character development was incredible. I couldn’t decide between 4.5 and 5 stars, so I suppose I’d give it 4.75 stars. Review to come.
  • Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater-ย GUYS, I THINK I FOUND MY NEW FAVORITE BOOK. Even writing the title, “Shiver” makes a huge smile spread across my face and makes me feel like I want to cry again simultaneously. I can’t even express how much I loved this novel. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone who wants to read a gorgeously written book with plenty of romance, a unique plot, and amazing, complex characters. Seriously, read this book right now. It will make you laugh, cry, swoon, and stay up way too late — but it’s totally worth it. I’m now officially in a massive book hangover. I’ll plan on writing a review on this if I can ever manage to get my thoughts together. I’d give this book all the stars in the world.

Currently Reading:

Rereading, more like. None other than Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater, which I finished 48 hours ago and still have not emotionally recovered from. So, yay! Rereads!

Reading Next:

This brings up an important issue. If I ever do end up recovering from my latest read, I suppose I do have to start another book. I was thinking about this earlier today and had a full-on panic attack because I didn’t know what book to read next. Not that I don’t have ideas. I mean, I have a TBR list that is probably about 1,000 books long, though I’ve never bothered to count. In the past few weeks, I’ve bought probably about 10 or 15 books — once again, I’m too lazy to count. I did take pictures, though, so here are my latest book hauls!

image1

  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  • That Summer by Sarah Dessen
  • This Lullaby by Sarah Dessan
  • Emma by Jane Austen
  • Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  • The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley
  • Find a Way by Diana Nyad

The majority of these books I purchased from used bookstores, so I’m pretty proud of myself for that. I got Find a Way by Diana Nyad at a book signing/inspirational speech thingy I went to yesterday, and I got it signed by her! I’ll be doing an event recap on this in the next few days. I also received The Watchmaker of Filigree Street as my first book received from Book of the Month, which I won a three-month membership to via Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon.

I probable won’t be reading Emma, Pride & Prejudice, or The Watchmaker of Filigree Street in the near future because I’m not really in the classics or adult novel mood, but I’m always open to suggestions! If you really enjoyed reading any of these, let me know in the comments and I’ll definitely consider it. I’m leaning towards reading either one of the Sarah Dessen books or My Sister’s Keeper,ย because I’ve heard a lot of good things about all of them, and I’m kind of in the mood for a contemporary. (But, let’s just be honest: when am I not in the mood for a contemporary?)

If you have any ideas on what I should read next, please let me know in the comments!

My Posts This Week:

Around the Blogosphere:

I hope you all had a fabulous week! What book do you think I should read next? What have you been reading lately? Any suggestions? Regarding Shiver: Is the rest of the series just as good? What is your favorite book by Maggie Stiefvater? OH, and are any of you guys as pumped up (and possibly terrified) for the release of Mockingjay Part 2? I’d love to hear your thoughts! ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “Weekly Recap {8}

  1. This Lullaby is probably my second favourite Sarah Dessen book. It’s beautiful. But I do love That Summer as well. This Lullaby is more about relationships, whereas That Summer focusses on body image issues, if that helps with your decision at all.

    Also you should read Graveyard Book as soon as possible. It’s one of my favourite books of all time. I reread it whenever I am making a big change in life because it gets me all inspired.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d very highly recommend reading The Kite Runner. It is an absolutely beautiful book; one of my all-time favorites! I’d definitely also recommend This Lullaby. I have not read That Summer yet, but I’ve read nearly all of Sarah Dessen’s other novels and have loved them all. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved Shiver too, although I found that a lot of people disliked it. But I really loved it, I first read it when it first came out so it had been a long time ago but I still love it until today โค I have Emma on my TBR as well! Planning on reading it this month or the next, maybe we can read it together!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you liked it too! Weird that a lot of people didn’t like it as much. It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting, because it was more focused on the romance than the werewolves, but I liked it that way. I’ve also heard a lot of comparisons to Twilight, which I strongly disagree with. Shiver is in a class of its own.

      And yes, I would love to read Emma together! Just let me know when it works for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • I just checked my inbox right now, and I would love to collaborate! Sorry I didn’t respond sooner, but I’m so bad at checking my email. I’ll respond to you right away. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And YES, I’m so excited for Mockingjay Part 2! And totally terrified about it at the same time. I really enjoyed Mockingjay Part 1, so hopefully this one will be just as good. Thanks for your comment! โค

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

