The Book Courtship Tag

Hi all! I’m finally bringing you another book tag! I was tagged by Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse and Calliope @ Calliope The Book Goddess. Please go check out these two lovely blogs if you haven’t already! This tag was created by LovelyLikeLaura.

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

11408650.jpgThe Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

-Goodreads.com description

Seriously, isn’t this cover just gorgeous?! I want to frame it and put it up in my room; it’s that pretty. It did turn out to be a great book, and one of my favorite series! I definitely recommend it if you haven’t already read it.

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

20801166.jpgA Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.

But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together….

-Goodreads.com description

Basically every book I’ve ever bought fits into this category, but I’m just going to go with A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. I actually don’t like the cover of this one like most people, so the synopsis was what really got me interested.

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

11614718.jpgDelirium by Lauren Oliver

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

-Goodreads.com description

I loved this book! Lauren Oliver’s writing is always beautiful, but I think it really came through the most on this one.

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

6068551.jpgShiver by Maggie Stiefvater 

the cold.
Grace has spent years watching the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf – her wolf – watches back. He feels deeply familiar to her, but she doesn’t know why.

the heat.
Sam has lived two lives. As a wolf, he keeps the silent company of the girl he loves. And then, for a short time each year, he is human, never daring to talk to Grace… until now.

the shiver.
For Grace and Sam, love has always been kept at a distance. But once it’s spoken, it cannot be denied. Sam must fight to stay human – and Grace must fight to keep him – even if it means taking on the scars of the past, the fragility of the present, and the impossibility of the future.

-Goodreads.com description

Um, HELL YEAH. I finished this books a few days ago, and I’m seriously desperate for the rest of the series. I know what you’re thinking: But Paige, you’re so bad at finishing series! You say this all the time and it never happens! IT WILL HAPPEN, GUYS. IT WILL.

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

21969786.jpgMore Than This by Patrick Ness

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?

From multi-award-winning Patrick Ness comes one of the most provocative and moving novels of our time.

-Goodreads.com description

Oh, man. Patrick Ness seriously knows how to write suspense. (Actually, I’m not entirely sure this novel was supposed to be suspense, but it was for me.) I rarely do this, but I stayed up way later than I normally do when I read this book. It was totally worth it.

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

18460392.jpgAll The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

-Goodreads.com description

All The Bright Places is probably in my top 3 favorite books of all time. I read it when it first came out early this year, sometime in January or Febuary, and I still can’t stop thinking about it.

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

7181805.jpgEmma by Jane Austen

Emma Woodhouse believes herself to be an excellent matchmaker, though she herself does not plan on marrying. But as she meddles in the relationships of others, she causes confusion and misunderstandings throughout the village, and she just may be overlooking a true love of her own.

-Goodreads.com description

I don’t know if this question is meant physically or emotionally, but I’m just going to go with physically. And no, I haven’t actually read this book yet, but we’re just going to go with it. I purchased this book at a used bookstore a few weeks ago, and it’s clothbound and a gorgeous addition to my shelves.

Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

16143347.jpgWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart

 A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

-Goodreads.com description

Another favorite. I’ve recommended this one to pretty much everyone I know, but barely any of them have actually read it. This doesn’t mean that I’ll ever stop pushing it in their faces and urging them to read it, though!

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re read many times in the future?

17453983.jpgAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

-Goodreads.com description

I’ve already read this book, what – 3 or 4 times? I imagine I’ll be rereading it many times in the future. This story is so adorable and sweet, and I can always count on it to get me in a good mood.

Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?

As always, if you have already done this tag or you don’t want to, feel free to ignore this. I look forward to seeing your posts! 🙂

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “The Book Courtship Tag

  1. Thanks for the tag! I love that edition of Emma too, although I just recently bought the more classic one. I haven’t read it either but I really want to 😀 And Anna and the French Kiss is on my TBR as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap {9} | Page By Paige

  3. Pingback: Month In Review: November 2015 | Page By Paige

  4. Pingback: The Book Courtship Tag | Tea & Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s