Weekly Recap {9}

Hi all! It’s Monday, which means that I’m long overdue with my Weekly Recap post, but hopefully I’ll be getting back to my normal blogging schedule soon! These last few weeks have been insanely busy for me, so hopefully things will subside a little bit in order for me to be more active on the blogosphere.

SOME STUFF THAT HAS BEEN HAPPENING IN MY LIFE LATELY:

  • I had a swim meet on Friday and Saturday! I did the 1000 freestyle on Friday for the first time, and it was horrible. Normally I don’t mind long distance races that much, but it was super painful for me at this swim meet for some reason. It finished at around 8pm, so I ended up getting home at 11pm! The next day went a little better, despite the fact that I was exhausted and had to leave my house at 5am in order to get to warmup on time. I did the 50 free, 100 fly, 100 back, and 200 back, and I did pretty good in all of them.
  • On Saturday night after the swim meet, I drove down to Long Beach to watch my little sister’s sailing regatta! She raced on Saturday and Sunday and ended up getting 2nd overall. During her races, I had a fun time reading, swimming in the frigid harbor, and watching her sail.
  • On the way home from Long Beach, I got to stop at Barnes and Noble! I ended up getting 2 books that have been on my TBR forever, and I’m super excited to read them!
  • Thanksgiving is coming up! Aren’t you guys excited?! I have the whole week of school off, and I’m looking forward to having a Thanksgiving dinner with my family!
  • I watched The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2! AND IT WAS AMAZING. And super (perhaps overly) intense. Review to come!

UNFORTUNATELY, I DIDN’T HAVE THE GREATEST BOOK WEEK. I READ (OR TRIED TO READ) 2 BOOKS:

  • That Summer by Sarah Dessen- I got about halfway through this book, and I still wasn’t really enjoying it. This was really disappointing for me because I loved another one of her books called Just Listen. I liked her writing style, but I wasn’t really connecting to the characters and getting in to the story as much as I wanted to. I’ve heard from a lot of people that this is their least favorite of her books, so I think I will continue reading the rest of her books.
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman- I’ve heard from a ton of people that they absolutely loved this book, but unfortunately, I’m not really feeling it. I really can see why so many people would love it; the plot and characters are super unique and fun, and the writing style is gorgeous. However, so far it hasn’t really been my taste. I’ve been having to go back and reread sentences because of the super wordy and flowery writing style, and reading this book is taking me a lot longer than it should be. However, I’ve also heard from a few people that they disliked the first half of the book but really enjoyed the second half, so I’ll definitely still be finishing it.

CURRENTLY READING:

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.

READING NEXT:

I have lots of options, but it will probably end up being Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

BOOK HAUL!

As I mentioned earlier in this post, I stopped at B&N on the way back from Long Beach! I managed to limit myself to only buying 2 books, so here they are:

2a721537-e787-4af5-a2af-7f77e19e48dd.jpg

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes- I’ve been wanting to read this book for soooo long, and I finally managed to find a paperback copy! Isn’t the cover gorgeous?

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein- I decided to go a bit out of my comfort zone and bought a historical fiction novel! Yay for me! I’ve heard so many good things about this book, so I’m super excited!

MY POSTS THIS WEEK:

AROUND THE WEB:

Happy Monday, and I hope you all had a fabulous week! What were your your highlights this past week? Have you read any great books lately that I should know about? What did you think about Mockingjay Part 2? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Weekly Recap {9}

  1. This week has been a busy one for me too! The rest of this week is going to be even more busy as I prepare to go to a friend’s wedding!
    But I hope your next week starts to get a little less busy and I hope you enjoy your next read! It’s the worst when books aren’t working for you, I absolutely hate it when I try to read a variety of books and they all don’t work well for me.
    AND THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MENTIONING MY POST oh my gosh you’re so sweet 💓

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re very welcome! Your blog is lovely and definitely deserves to be mentioned! ❤
      Ooh, wedding! Sounds like fun, though I imagine it'll be pretty hectic. I hope you have a great week too!
      And YES, ME TOO. I think it might partially be because I had mega-high expectations for my reading this week because I recently had two 5-star reads in a row (which like never, never happens to me.) I actually am starting to really enjoy The Graveyard Book, and things are speeding up quite a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

