From Page To Screen {1}

Hi guys! I’ve decided to do something a little different for my post today. Instead of discussing books, I’ll be discussing the next best thing – movie adaptations! There are so many books becoming movies in the next couple years that I am beyond ecstatic about, so I compiled a list to show you the upcoming releases that I’m most excited about!

monster-image-8-20.jpgA Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Release Date: October 14 2016

Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy

Directed by J. A. Bayona

Starring Liam Neeson, Felicity Jones, and Sigourney Weaver

A Monster Calls was one of the best books I read this year, and I’m so excited for the movie! The trailer was released a week or 2 ago, which also looks absolutely fabulous.

 

url.jpgThe 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Release Date: January 15 2016

Genre(s): Adventure, Science Fiction, Thriller

Directed by J Blakeson

Starring ChloΓ« Grace Moretz, Nick Robinson, and Liev Schreiber

Out of all the movies coming out in 2016, The 5th Wave is by far my most anticipated. It is one of my all-time favorite books, and if the movie turns out to be anywhere near how amazing the book was, I’ll absolutely love it!

 

MissPeregrineCover.jpgMiss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Release Date: December 25 2016

Genre(s): Adventure, Fantasy

Directed by Tim Burton

Starring Eva Green, Allison Janney, and Samuel L. Jackson

Another one of my favorite books of the year! I’m sure this will make a fabulous movie!

fantastic_beasts.jpgFantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them by J. K. Rowling

Release Date: November 18 2016

Genre(s): Adventure, Fantasy

Directed by David Yates

Starring Eddie Redmayne, Ezra Miller, and Colin Farrell

Alright, J.K. Rowling fans….Harry Potter isn’t over! HP was the first series that really got me into reading, so how could I not be excited to see this?!

Allegiant_novel_cover.jpgAllegiant by Veronica Roth

Release Date: March 18 2016

Genre(s): Adventure, Science Fiction

Directed by Robert Schwentke

Starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and ZoΓ« Kravitz

Unlike most people I know, Allegiant was actually my favorite book in the series. I thought the first two movies in the series were amazing, so I have pretty high expectations for this one. However, I wasn’t a huge fan of the trailer, so I’m curious to see how it turns out…

 

15507958.jpgMe Before You by Jojo Moyes

Release Date: March 4 2016

Genre(s): Drama, Romance

Directed by Thea Sharrock

Starring Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin, and Jenna Coleman

I will be starting this novel later today and I’m SO EXCITED! It sounds exactly like the kind of book (and movie) that I would love.

*****

There are obviously a lot more books becoming movies in the near future, but these were all I could remember off of the top of my head. To find more movie adaptations coming out in 2016, check out this list on Goodreads. I’m not sure if it’s completely accurate, but it should give you a general idea!

What movies would you add to this list? What is your most anticipated movie release of 2016? Tell me in the comments!

 

19 thoughts on “From Page To Screen {1}

  1. I still need to read A Monster Calls and that trailer looks absolutely amazing!
    I’m also unbelievably excited for Fantastic Beasts, which also looks so good. I didn’t know some of these were becoming movies, so thanks for the information! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my gosh, A Monster Calls is so amazing! I agree, the trailer looks wonderful, though it makes it look like it’s geared more towards a younger audience, while I found the book to have some pretty mature subjects. And YES to Fantastic Beasts! You’re very welcome, I actually found out about a lot of these really recently too. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AHHH! I’m so excited for all of these! I don’t know what your rules on links are, so I won’t link it, but I did a post on November 10th about the top 10 movie adaptations I need to watch. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the great post, Paige!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Confession: I haven’t read any of these books – not even Allegiant, which I preordered by never opened after getting spoiled on how it ends. πŸ˜› Whoops! (Also I stopped reading Miss Peregrine’s for some reason and never got back to finishing it) Although A Monster Calls seems pretty interesting, and my friend really likes the Fifth Wave so I’ll be looking forward to seeing that! I ALSO CAN’T WAIT FOR FANTASIC BEASTS BECAUSE MY BBY EDDIE REDMAYNE IS IN IT! ❀ Also will be looking for The Darkest Minds, from that GR list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I got spoiled about the end of Allegiant too! Honestly, I still really liked it, even though spoilers are pretty much the bane of my existence. And oh my gosh, you have to read A Monster Calls and The 5th Wave! THE FIFTH WAVE COMES OUT IN JANUARY, SO YOU MUST HURRY! No pressure. πŸ˜‰
      Yay for The Darkest Minds! Completely forgot about that one. AND YAY FOR EDDIE REDMAYNE! ❀

      Like

  4. Pingback: Month In Review: November 2015 | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

