Bookish Problems & A Measly Library Haul

Guys, I think the library hates me. No joke.

A few days ago, I visited my local library in hopes of getting a gigantic haul of books. Maybe start a few well-known series, maybe cross out a couple books on my ever-growing TBR list. So, first, I made my way over to the Shatter Me trilogy, because I’ve heard really good things about it and I wanted to start the series. And this is what happened:

image1.JPG

THEY HAD THE OTHER TWO BOOKS IN THE SERIES EXCEPT FOR THE ONE I WANTED. It made me really sad. BUT I RECOVERED, LIKE THE STRONG (and possibly insane) BOOKWORM I AM. It wasn’t the first time this has ever happened to me, after all. Not by a long shot.

Then, I walked over to the Maggie Stiefvater section so I could get the next book in the Shiver series. THEN, THIS HAPPENED:

image4.JPG

It happened again. They had EVERY SINGLE ONE of Maggie Stiefvater’s books (there were more on the shelves, but the picture cut them off.) , except for the one I wanted. AND IT TOTALLY WASN’T LIKE SHIVER WASN’T MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE BOOK OF THE YEAR OR ANYTHING. No, I’ll just sit here and sob in a corner after getting my heart crushed by Shiver, when I obviously won’t be reading the next book any time soon.

So then, I decided that I was tired of missing out on all the popular series everyone talks about all the time. THE ONE TIME I DECIDED TO PUT EFFORT INTO READING ALL THOSE POPULAR FANTASY SERIES, THEY DON’T HAVE THE ONE I’M LOOKING FOR. I totally get that libraries don’t always have the books you want to read, but what’s really frustrating is when they have all- or most- of the rest of the books in the series, but not the one you’re looking for.

So then, this happened:

image3.JPG

(Can you tell I’m getting frustrated yet? I want to start this series so bad!)

And this:

image2.JPG

(I’m tired of hearing how much everyone loves Jace or Jem or Will or whoever else is in this series that I don’t know about. I NEED TO EXPERIENCE IT FOR MYSELF.)

I appreciate libraries so much, and I never would have gotten into reading without them. BUT NEVER UNDERESTIMATE HOW FRUSTRATING THEY CAN BE, OKAY? Or bookstores, for that matter. This happened to me at a bookstore a couple of weeks ago, except for the fact it was ONE series and not FOUR. *sighs*

ANYWAY. I’m done with my rant now, so you can come out now, okay? I’ll play nice. I figured this would also be a good time to share my measly book haul, without further ado….

THE HAUL:

image1-1.JPG

And by measly, I don’t mean the books. I’m actually quite excited for them, in fact. By measly, I mean the size. I seriously can’t remember ever leaving the library without checking out as many books as I could carry. (True story: My record is 15. I carried them an entire block, and I only spilled them 4 times.)

  • Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson- AHHH, THE HYPE. I don’t read very many fairytale retellings, but this one actually sounds super interesting. I mean, come on: A forbidden love story? Fabulous writing? A so-called heart-crushing ending? GIVE IT TO ME NOW.
  • Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway- I’m so excited for this! I absolutely loved Audrey, Wait!, so I’m 99.98% sure I’ll love this. I’ve heard such good things about it!
  • Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo- Confession: Don’t kill me, but….I’ve never actually read the synopsis of this one. Basically, the only thing I know about it is that it’s fantasy and it has a pretty cover. PLUS, HYPE.
  • Mosquitoland by David Arnold- Again, hype. And again, I have absolutely no idea what it’s about. Except that it’s contemporary, and that the cover is so gorgeous that I want it on my bookshelf. (Sensing a trend here?) And I think it might involve a road trip or something, based on the cover? AND I ABSOLUTELY ADORE ROAD TRIP BOOKS.

LET’S TALK. Have you ever experienced this bookish tragedy of finding exactly none of the books you wanted, even when they had EVRY SINGLE BOOK in the rest of the series? PLEASE DON’T LET ME BE THE ONLY ONE. What do you think of my library haul? Which ones should I read first?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Bookish Problems & A Measly Library Haul

  1. All of the time. Happens to me in bookstores though. I mean it is just so frustrating that when I don’t have the money, it’s there. But when I do have cash with me, everything is there but not that one book. Irritating, yet it happens a lot. Probably a bookworm thing hahaha. There there.

    You said definitely read Shadow and Bone first :))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You poor thing, I can feel your frustration 😏

    To be honest I don’t get books from the library as I have a thing about books being clean and in pretty good condition. Don’t get me wrong, I have no problem getting 2nd hand books, I just like when they have been well looked after and aren’t stained 😊

    Enjoy the four books that you got!

    Like

  3. Oh that sucks, this used to happen to me so often that i’d just request books online, so if my library doesn’t have it, it gets shipped really quickly from another library. I don’t know if your library has that service though…

    Like

  4. Oh, well gosh, that’s awful! AND HOW COULD THEY KEEP YOU FROM ENJOYING CASSIE CLARE’S BOOKS? (I like never use caps but this was like for emphasis and urgency.) They’re so amazing. Jem will forever be my fictional crush; you just have to meet him and the other shadowhunter boys! But of your haul, I’ve read Shadow and Bone and enjoyed it. I actually recently met Leigh and she’s such a sweet lady too. Anyway, hope you enjoy, Paige!

    Like

  5. That’s terrible. I used to have that happen, but now I always just put a hold on the books I want from the library (through my library’s catalog online) and then I get a text when they come in. It is super nice, and I think every library in the world should do it if they don’t already. All of those series are so fantastic and I’m sorry you didn’t get to continue most of them. This post seemed to get sadder and sadder as I went along, but at least you got some books, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

