Month In Review: November 2015

Hi all! Can you believe it’s almost December already?! These last few weeks have flown by for me, and it’s finally my favorite time of the year: Christmas!

3 Things That Happened In My Life This Month:

  • I met Nicola Yoon yesterday! It was completely by accident, but I’m so grateful! I went down to Pasadena yesterday with my family to do some holiday shopping, and I saw her at a bookstore and completely freaked out! I’ll be doing an event recap on this soon, so stay tuned.
  • I saw Mockingjay Part 2 with one of my friends, and it was AMAZING! And super duper intense. I did have a couple problems with it, but overall, it was pretty awesome. Review to come (hopefully….).
  • I reached 100 followers! I did a post on this here, and I’m completely overwhelmed (in the best way possible) with all you guys’ support. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

My Favorite Books This Month:

I read 8 books this month! My two favorites, by far, were:

  • Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater- WHY ON EARTH DID I NOT READ THIS SOONER?! I can’t recommend this book highly enough- if you haven’t read this yet, even if you aren’t sure about the synopsis, give it a go. I’m not guaranteeing you’ll like it, but I honestly don’t have any idea why you wouldn’t.
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz- This was one of the most beautiful books I’ve read in a long time- both beautiful in writing style, and beautiful in the story and message. I would highly recommend this to anyone! My review here.

Worst rating I gave a book this month?

That Summer by Sarah Dessen. I had some high expectations for it, but I didn’t get into it at all, so I stopped reading it halfway through.

Cover love?

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I tend to love super simplistic covers, and this beauty was no exception. I also love the font and color scheme.

Quote of the Month:

“And then I opened my eyes and it was just Grace and me – nothing anywhere but Grace and me – she pressing her lips together as though she were keeping my kiss inside her, and me, holding this moment that was as fragile as a bird in my hands.”  -Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Book Haul!

The following is a picture of the books I’ve acquired this month:

image1.JPG

  • That Summer by Sarah Dessen (Read- DNF)
  • This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen (Not read)
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (Not read)
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (Not read)
  • And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini (Not read)
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (Not read)
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult (Not read)
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (Currently reading)
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore (Not read)
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (Purchased for my Secret Santa- not read)
  • Find A Way by Diana Nyad (Read)
  • The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley (Not read)

 

Bookish News:

Most Popular Posts This Month:

My Personal Favorite Posts This Month:

3 Things I’m Looking Forward To Next Month:

  • I’m getting a new bookshelf! I mean….hopefully. At first it was going to be built in January or February, but the builder said that he MIGHT be able to squeeze it in before Christmas….so I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Anyway, it’s supposed to be huge and take up an entire wall of my room!
  • MY BIRTHDAY! I’m turning 13 on the 13th of December! Hoping for lots of books and friends and good food… 🙂
  • Yup, you guessed it. CHRISTMAS! I do love getting in the holiday spirit, and Christmas is my favorite holiday!

What was your absolute favorite book of this month? What are you looking forward to next month? What is your most anticipated release of 2016? I’d love to hear your thoughts! 🙂

18 thoughts on “Month In Review: November 2015

  1. Aww, congrats on 100 followers! And omg you are only turning 13?! hehe, I feel so old right now. 😛 But omg, huzzah for a birthday! 😀 I hope it’s an amazing day for you!! AND AJFDKALFS I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKED SHIVER, I CANNOT EVEN RIGHT NOW. I ADORE THAT BOOK. THAT SERIES. EVERYTHING ABOUT THAT AUTHOR *tries to calm self* Least to say if that’s your first Stiefvater book, you have to try them all. 😉
    Thanks for sharing my post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Cait! AND OHMYGOSH ISN’T SHIVER INCREDIBLE?! I have read The Raven Boys, which I still enjoyed, but not as much as Shiver. I will definitely read the rest of the series though. And I’ll be looking in to The Scorpio Races as well for sure!

      Like

  2. Congrats on 100 followers, Paige! That’s such an amazing achievement – may you have 100 more, and then more!! ♥
    Oh my, I’ll try and remember but HAPPY BIRTHDAY FOR THE 13TH! My birthday is really close to yours – we’re both December babies!! I hope you have great food too; that’s always my favourite part of birthdays!
    On ‘A Monster Calls’ – what did you think of the trailer?? I just finished the book and REALLY liked it so I’m super excited to see it! I wonder how they’ll show some parts of the books though – but I have high hopes. c:
    And THANK YOU FOR SHARING MY POST!! ♥♥ You’re a sweetheart – thank you. :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I’m not so sure about that- but I certainly hope so! And happy almost birthday to you too! What day is your birthday? And yay for great food!
      I thought the trailer was really amazing, and I honestly don’t think they should do another trailer- I like the teaser just fine. The trailer did make it seem more like an kid’s movie, though; and I really hope they come through with the emotional parts and more adult-ish themes. I’m also really curious to see how they’ll pull off some of the scenes from the book, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. I have super high hopes as well!
      And you’re very welcome for sharing your post! You deserve it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hehe thanks! I’m 27th of December and I’ll be an old hogeypogey!
        I thought so too! I watched it before I read the book and liked it, and watched it again and liked it even more. I hope so too. But I have a good feeling about it! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! Hehe I know so many people who have December birthdays- 3 of my friends have the same birthday as me! I certainly have a good feeling about it too! It was such an amazing book, so I don’t think it’s possible to mess up the film too bad.

        Like

    • YES! I loved it so much, and I honestly don’t see why people wouldn’t like it. Except maybe some people thought the romance happened too fast? I didn’t have a problem with that at all; it made sense to me, since they’ve practically known each other their whole lives. And I think some people found it to Twilight-y, which I definitely disagree with. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! I think some people just disliked the writing style and maybe they just didn’t click with the characters. But I loved them! They are like my OTP ever since I first read the books 😍

        Like

      • They are all so fantastic and the character development is top notch. I really love them all, but there were parts of the second that made me slightly uncomfortable. I am loving Heir of Fire right now! (I’m only about 150 pages in) I’ve heard they just get better and better, so I can’t decide yet. There are parts of each book that I adore.

        Like

  3. I can’t believe you bumped into Nicola Yoon! Excited to read your event recap. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe has been on my TBR list since last month, but I haven’t yet read it. So excited that you gave it a sterling review, and I can’t wait to start on it. ❤

    Congratulations on the 100 followers and thank you for linking to my discussion post, I really appreciate it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

