Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958.jpgMe Before You by Jojo Moyes

Published by Pamela Dorman Books/Viking on December 31, 2012

Pages: 369

Genre(s): Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Format: Hardcover, Library Copy

Trigger Warnings: Depression, Suicide

Rating: 5 stars!

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.
-Goodreads.com description

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

Guys, I think I’m in love.

And no, I don’t mean with a boy. Though we all know about my seemingly endless list of book boyfriends…

No, I mean with a book. This book in particular.

I fell head-over-heels in love with the characters from the first page: Lou, with her crazy clothes and her bubbly personality; Will, with his snarky snide comments and relatable perspective on life; and even Mrs. Traynor, with her positive personality and her calm, focused demeanor. Sure, I’ve never (thankfully) gone through a situation like these characters did, but I could still relate to their thoughts and emotions through empathy.

“All I can say is that you make me… you make me into someone I couldn’t even imagine. You make me happy, even when you’re awful. I would rather be with you – even the you that you seem to think is diminished – than with anyone else in the world.”

I cried, probably harder than I ever have over a book in my life.

I laughed, so hard that other kids in my class starting looking at me strangely and asking if I was alright.

I shipped Will and Lou so hard.

This book is now definitely one of my favorite books of all time. I’m still in complete shock from finishing it last night (at midnight, if I may add. I hardly ever stay up too late reading books, so that just shows you how good this one was.). It changed my perspective on life-changing diseases, on love, on life. And I’m so incredibly thankful for that. This book engulfed and changed me in a way I never thought possible.

If you do decide to read this book, you should know that it deals with some very serious topics, such as depression and suicide. It was honestly the saddest book I’ve ever read, but somehow, at the same time, it was incredibly uplifting. This book caused me to think about things that I had never thought about before, and consider opinions about things I’ve never considered before. It completely destroyed me, but I loved every second of it.

“Hey Clark’, he said.’Tell me something good’. I stared out of the window at the bright-blue Swiss sky and I told him a story of two people. Two people who shouldn’t have met, and who didn’t like each other much when they did, but who found they were the only two people in the world who could possibly have understood each other. And I told him of the adventures they had, the places they had gone, and the things I had seen that I had never expected to. I conjured for him electric skies and iridescent seas and evenings full of laughter and silly jokes. I drew a world for him, a world far from a Swiss industrial estate, a world in which he was still somehow the person he had wanted to be. I drew the world he had created for me, full of wonder and possibility.”

This book is marketed as an Adult Romance novel, but honestly, it’s so much more than that. Despite the older characters and more mature themes, I think it reads more like a YA novel, which is probably part of the reason I loved it so much. This book is about romance, sure, but it’s about so much more than that. It’s about acceptance and grief and family and life and so many other important things. This book constantly reminded me of how unfair life can be sometimes, and how the most horrible things can happen to the most wonderful people. This book recognizes the importance of being able to get up and get on with your life, no matter how hard things seem. This book made me want to take risks. To give everyone a chance. To be thankful for what I have. To be a better, kinder, stronger person.

I apologize if this review was more of a ramble than a review, but I think you get the idea. I would recommend this book to anyone, of any age, but more specifically people that like books like All the Bright Places and Just One Day and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. No matter how old you are or what gender you are or what your favorite genre is, I encourage you to give this book a chance. You might just find yourself become a different person.

Untitled design 2.jpg

What did YOU think of Me Before You? Do you agree with me? Disagree? Do you think you might be interested in picking up this book in the future? OH, and is After You just as good? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments! 😀

20 thoughts on “Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. I cried so hard on this book. I ship Lou Clark and Will Traynor so hard! I can’t wait for the movie adaptation. Great Review, Paige! As for After You… I did not finish it. I feel like it’s not necessary though I see its purpose.. let’s say I want to leave things as is on MBY.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Grace! It’s definitely a favorite of mine, too. I’ve seen a ton of people saying that this book is one of their absolute favorites, and I’ve also seen a lot of people give it 1 or 2-star reviews, but hardly anyone in the middle.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Top 10 New-To-Me Authors of 2015 | Page By Paige

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read In 2015 | Page By Paige

  4. Pingback: Review: Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson | Page By Paige

  5. Pingback: Page By Paige

  6. Loved the review, I’ve had my eye on this book for a while… May I just ask what page that last quote is from? It’s so sweet I adore it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

