Top 10 New-To-Me Authors of 2015

Well, hello there! Yup, it’s me again. *tentatively waves hello*

I made a slight disappearance from the blogosphere last week, but I’m back again to bring you my Top Ten Tuesday post! Hope you enjoy! πŸ™‚

TTT.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is your top 10 new-to-you authors you’ve read in 2015. I’ve discovered a huge amount of new YA authors in the past year (probably because of the fact that I didn’t really get in to YA until about 2 years ago), so this should be fun!

Patrick Ness

BECAUSE OHMYGOODNESSGRACIOUS, this man is a genius. I don’t think I’ve ever read such unique and weird (in the best way possible) stories, and his writing style is perfection. If you’re looking for books that really make you think, Patrick Ness is the way to go!

Jojo Moyes

I just finished Me before You a few days ago (my review here), and it DESTROYED me. I still haven’t recovered. It was one of the most beautiful and eye-opening books I’ve ever read, and I’ll now read anything this amazing lady writes.

Morgan Matson

Morgan’s books didn’t have the lasting effect on me like most of these other books did, but I still have no criticism to offer for any of her books. They’re perfect if you want a light, fun summer read. Except Second Chance Summer, because there is absolutely NO WAY I would classify it as a light read. It was a super emotional and beautiful book, so don’t expect to make it through this one without tearing up, or at the very least, nearly tearing up.

Maggie Stiefvater

EEK, this lady is a genius. I mean, I didn’t absolutely ADOREΒ The Raven Boys because I didn’t get into the plot as much as I wanted to. However, the writing style and well-developed characters still shone through for me, so I’m definitely planning on finishing the series.

BUT, on a different note, let’s talk about Shiver. Becauseohmygoshthisbookisperfection. I loved, loved, LOVED everything about it, and it’s one of the best romances I’ve read in a while. Plus, the story is super original, and unlike anything I’ve ever read before!

 

Rainbow Rowell

I’m actually not positive that I read both Fangirl and Eleanor & Park in 2015, because unlike most people reading this, I stopped using Goodreads for the first 3/4 of 2015. But, don’t worry; I’m back on it now! Feel free to friend me (my username is Paige (Page By Paige)) JUST IN CASE YOU’RE WONDERING.

Ahem. Anyway.Β I adored both her books, but especially Fangirl,Β because of bookishness and fanfiction and college and LEVI. *swoons*

Jennifer Niven

GUYS, ALL-TIME FAVORITE BOOK ALERT! IF YOU HAVE NOT YET READ THIS FABULOUS, HEARTBREAKING, GORGEOUS, AMAZING BOOK THAT SHATTERED MY HEART INTO A BAJILLION PIECES AND LEFT ME SOBBING MY EYES OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF ENGLISH CLASS WITH A WHOLE ROOMFUL OF PEOPLE STARING AT ME LIKE I’M SOME KIND OF DYSFUNCTIONAL IDIOT, PLEASE PROCEED TO THE NEAREST BOOKSTORE TO PURCHASE ALL THE BRIGHT PLACESΒ IMMEDIATELY.

Woah. Okay. Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way…

I won’t go into praising this book, because that’ll probably take up way too much time for you to read and me to write, but instead, I’ll shove it in front of your faces and demand you read it right away. Fun, right?

Sarah Dessen

I’ve read 2 of her books this year, one of which I absolutely loved, and the other of which bored me to death and I DNF’d. However, I think the good outweighs the bad on this one, because the rest of her books are supposed to be pretty amazing.

E. Lockhart

We Were Liars is probably in my top 5 favorite books and was absolute PERFECTION, but PLEASE don’t ask me why I haven’t sprinted to the bookstore and grappled for every single one of her other books like the overenthusiastic fangirl I am. PLEASE. I will get to them, someday. I promise….

Becky Albertalli

Because of the entire blogosphere passionately screaming at me to pick this one up, I did. And I owe you guys, big time. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda was one of the most adorable, amazing books I’ve ever read, and absolutely everyone should read it.

Jandy Nelson

I read both The Sky Is Everywhere and I’ll Give You the Sun earlier this year, and they both absolutely destroyed me (in the best way possible). Her writing is SO GORGEOUS, and some of my absolute favorite quotes come from her books. PLUS, the covers are beautiful! (I know, I’m shallow. But they’re soooooo pretty!)

Tell me what new authors you’ve discovered this year! πŸ™‚

 

20 thoughts on “Top 10 New-To-Me Authors of 2015

  1. PATRICK NESS IS AMAZING, I am also so glad to have found him this year. He is one of my all time favourite authors from now on, he writes so amazingly, I can’t even begin to describe his awesome writing. And I adore Rainblw Rowell. Her style of writing and the genre she tackles… She does it so incredibly well!
    I’ve been meaning to read All The Bright Places ALL YEAR. ALL YEAR I TELL YOU. That should be the book I pick up next…

    Liked by 1 person

    • EEK ISN’T HE SUCH A GENIUS?! I could go on all day about how amazing his writing style is….
      ACK JOSIE WHYYYYYY. You need to read All the Bright Places, I’m telling you! I actually picked up ATBP at the bookstore the day it released when I had absolutely no idea it existed. I didn’t even read the synopsis! I just picked it because the cover was pretty. PRETTY COVERS PAY OFF, I’M TELLING YOU. Moral of the story? Josie= needs to read All the Bright Places immediately. (No pressure… πŸ˜‰ )

      Liked by 1 person

      • I FEEL YOU, JOSIE. I spent every penny of my money buying books as Christmas presents for my family (and I may have bought a bit more than a few for myself, but shhh….don’t tell πŸ˜‰ ), and now I get to guilt all of them into reading them! IT ALWAYS WORKS.

        Like

  2. I read Shiver based on your raving about it and really liked it. Moving on to Linger ASAP! I LOVED All the Bright Places, too. And Me Before You. I’m curious to how you decide what is age appropriate for you. Me Before You is pretty heavy, but so is All the Bright Places. A lot of YA doesn’t feel YA to me (meaning it seems like for adults) so I’m curious to know how you decide.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Interesting question- I was actually planning on writing a discussion post on this soon! Once my parents allowed me to start reading YA, they pretty much let me read anything I wanted. I feel like it’s primarily the reader’s responsibility to chose what is age appropriate for them, which I try to do. Even before I was a blogger, I was pretty active in the book blogging world- constantly reading reviews and other blog posts, commenting, and reviewing on Goodreads. This way, I pretty much know about every book I read before I read it, and reading reviews on it help me get an understanding on what age it’s appropriate for. All of my favorite books basically fall into 2 categories: the super dark, moving, and heavy ones, such as All The Bright Places and Me Before You, and the fun, cute contemporary romances like Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway and Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I actually seem to enjoy the heavy, moving ones the best- they’re often the ones that really make me think and have a lasting impression on me, which I love. I hardly read any New Adult or Adult, but of the ones I’ve read, I’ve heard a lot about and read countless reviews on. My favorite Adult/NA books are probably Me Before You, Volition by Lily Paradis, and Jodi Picoult’s novels.

      Like

      • Thanks! I am always wary of recommending more intense books to Max and Rose so reading your blog has really helped. I just heard about An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir which gets rave reviews. Going to pick it up at the library now. πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

