Top 10 Books I Read In 2015

TTT.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is the top 10 books you read in 2015! You can organize this by genre or by only 2015 releases, but I chose to do the top 10 books I read overall.

Eek, I can’t believe it’s this time of year again! Christmas is less than 2 weeks away, and then it’s the new year! I’m sure these next couple weeks will be super fun blogging weeks with all the fun Christmas-y and end of year-themed posts I have planned!

Anyway, in this post, I will be spotlighting my favorite reads of 2015. I’ve discovered SO MANY books this year, so this should be a super fun post to write!

image1-1.JPG

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

I discovered this book earlier this year, and OH MY GOODNESS GRACIOUS I loved it. This book totally messed with my mind, and really made me think about human nature and how even the slightest actions can make the biggest differences. I thought I might know who the killer was in the very beginning, but the author made me completely change my mind over the course of the novel. Highly recommend.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

I read both I’ll Give You The Sun and The Sky Is Everywhere this year, but I think this one is definitely the winner. The story centers on two teen siblings, Noah and Jude, and explores themes like growing up, first love, and letting go. I loved everything about this book, but my favorite part was how Jandy Nelson portrays the twin’s relationship so realistically and beautifully. Nelson’s prose is so gorgeous and vivid and left me scrambling for my quote notebook.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

This was one of my first reads of the year, but it still gives me chills whenever I think about it. The characters, though not very likable, were complex and interesting and mysterious. What really captured me from the beginning of the book was the poetic-like prose, and the way Lockhart captured emotion and visuals was really amazing to me.

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

You know those books that leave you feeling really depressed, not because you disliked it, but because you know you’ll never be able to write something as beautiful and unique and meaningful as the one you just read? That’s how this book left me. Not only was I drowning in a puddle of my own tears, but I was also extremely depressed. Not exactly my proudest bookish moment.

Anyway, the story centers on a girl who falls in love with a wolf. Sounds intriguing, right? I won’t tell you anything else about this book, because I think it’s the kind of book that’s best to go in to blind. I’ve shied away from reading this book for years because I thought the concept of it sounded really weird, but Maggie Stiefvater made it work amazingly well. Just don’t make the same mistake as I did, okay?

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

I read the first two books in this series in 2014 and absolutely adored them, with plans to read this one right away in January. Except….I didn’t. I didn’t get to it until July, for that matter.

And…I LOVED IT SO MUCH! I was super nervous about reading it because I heard that it wasn’t as good as the first two, but honestly, it was my favorite one in the series by far. Though I didn’t like Josh very much in the first book, I grew to love him through Isla’s eyes. My absolute favorite part of the book was Isla’s character. She was so complex and interesting, and I connected deeply with her. She’s super shy, passionate, and insecure, and also absolutely adorable. This book felt so much more emotional and….I don’t know….vivid, and I absolutely loved it.

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Oh my gosh, guys. THIS BOOK. I’m not going to say much about it because I don’t want to ruin it for you, but if you haven’t already, you should read this book for sure. I think it’s safe to say that it’s my favorite book of all ever.

Aristotle And Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I read this book a few weeks ago, and I still haven’t recovered. Guys, I cried so hard. I know I say this about a lot of books, but seriously, remember to bring the tissues while reading this one, because you will need them. If you want to read a beautiful story about diversity and family and acceptance and first love, this book is definitely the way to go.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I changed my mind, guys. I don’t want to pick favorites. Because I honestly could never, ever pick between this and All The Bright Places and Me Before You and The Perks Of Being A Wallflower and…..EEK. Not even if my life depended on it.

This book will make you cry. It will make you laugh. It will make you think about things you’ve never thought about before. Patrick Ness is the king of thought-provoking and emotional books, and this one, in my opinion, is his best yet. Don’t be fooled by the small number of pages and gorgeous illustrations, because trust me, it’s deep. It’s one of the most well-written and meaningful and raw books I’ve ever read, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Seriously, what is it with me reading so many emotional books lately? This book destroyed me. I think it might be the saddest book I’ve ever read, and that’s saying a lot coming from a girl like me. I can’t put into words how brilliant this book is; it gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. Even though it’s incredibly sad book, somehow, at the same time, it was extremely uplifting for me to read. My review here.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I read this book in the beginning of this year, so I don’t remember it that well, but just know that it is an extremely important, beautiful book that should be read by anyone and everyone. Never mind the Young Adult label; everyone would benefit from reading this book. It deals with some darker topics in an extremely raw, realistic way, and I absolutely adored it.

Honorable Mentions:

More Than This by Patrick Ness (my review) // Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas // The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey // Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs // The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Which books made it onto your lists this week? Do we have any in common? As always, please drop a link of your TTT in the comments; I’d love to see your post!

19 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I Read In 2015

  1. A few books that you mention are still on my tbr pile. But I loved Aristotle And Dante, A Monster Calls and Me Before You.
    I didn’t like We were liars and Shiver. I thought that We were liars was ok, but I felt like a hype around this book just ruined it for me. But Shiver…. I hated it (I’m sorry). I was struggling while reading and I almost didn’t finish it. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I’ll Give You the Sun” is on my list too! I don’t read a ton of YA, but I thought that book was ah-maz-ing! And “Me Before You” is one of my all-time favorites. I can’t wait to see the movie in a few months… I think the casting is spot-on!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

