I Never Set Out To Be A Writer….

You want to know a funny story?

Before I started blogging, I despised writing. I mean, it wasn’t horrible, but I would much rather be doing something else, like, say….drawing. Or swimming. Or reading. (I know, so surprising, right?) When my teacher announced we were writing an essay and my whole class groaned, I was part of that classful of kids groaning.

And then, I started a book blog. Weird, right? I had never been inclined to write reviews or discussions or anything of that sort, until suddenly, I did. Having a blog that people would actually read and comment on and share ideas was an amazing idea to me, and it sounded so much more fun than sitting down and just…..well, you know. Writing.

And then, things started changing. Once I started writing about the things I loved, even writing about the things I didn’t love became enjoyable. I became the only kid in my class to actually be excited about starting an essay. I started to adore the idea of writing itself, the concept of sharing and voicing your opinions out into the world. The idea of making a mark on the world using the written word. In the world we live in today, it’s sometimes hard to voice your opinion among so many people wanting to share their opinions and uniqueness. Writing gives people a tremendous amount of power, especially introverts who aren’t used to sharing everything out loud.When you write, people listen. I think that’s a pretty amazing concept.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been getting these crazy book ideas. Sometimes it will happen in the middle of math class, or while eating dinner, or in the midst of a swimming workout. It could be just a snippet of dialogue, or an image I’m dying to describe, or an actual plot twist that I have to somehow fit in with all my other ideas. Like a puzzle piece. Except, the entire puzzle sometimes seems too big and overwhelming to think about as a whole. Like, sometimes I just have to focus on one small part of the puzzle in order to complete it, one piece at a time.

Maybe I’m not making much sense. But my point is that writing is hard. There’s very few people that actually have the motivation to carry out and complete a novel, though we all dream of it. My advice is that you shouldn’t push yourself into writing something that you’re not ready to write. Instead of thinking about the big picture, focus on one small part of your project. Take baby steps. And then, when you’re ready, be prepared to write your heart out.

SO! I’d love to hear your thoughts!

  • Are you working on any projects currently? Could you tell me about it?

  • Do you ever get these bursts of inspiration that you’re just dying to write down, like I do?

  • Do you ever lack the motivation to complete a project you started on? Do you have any advice for this problem?

11 thoughts on “I Never Set Out To Be A Writer….

  1. I can totally relate to you! I adore writing essays and I also find writing about something I don’t like soooooo enjoyable!

    I also always get bursts of inspiration usually at night before I fall asleep, which results in me getting up and writing them down hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a great deal of admiration and respect for the dedication and imagination it takes to be a fiction writer. I have always loved writing, but found my niche in the more technical writing – essays at school, then press releases, speeches etc at my job, and now book reviews. But if you have ideas and drive, I think it means you have what it takes to write fiction! Go for it!! Best of luck – I’d love to see what you can do. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. PAIGE, YES TO THIS ENTIRE POST! While I’ve always been the weird kid who loves to write, I can totally relate and especially to the random story ideas. I am constantly getting snippets and small puzzle pieces! It can be confusing but I didn’t it exciting!
    It’s great to write them soon immediately. And I am working on a novel, which I am so excited about!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay I’m glad you agree, Josie! Haha I can definitely relate to that- now I’m that kid who’s always ecstatic when an essay is assigned. All the other kids in my grade probably think I’m going crazy, but I regret nothing haha. And yes, it’s so exciting! Best of luck with your novel. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I get the same feeling too, when you’re so invested on something you’re writing on and on little parts of your daily life you’d get an inspiration somewhere and you’d be super excited to go home and just write 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve given up writing a long time ago, but it’s posts like these that make me want to pick up writing again. I think my biggest problem and obstacle was conveying all the ideas and concepts that I had in my head. I admire anyone and everyone that writes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

