Top 10 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Christmas Tree

TTT.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is the top 10 books we would love to receive for Christmas! Yes, you read that right. ONLY TEN. Eek, however will I choose just 10 books out of my seemingly-endless TBR pile?! THE STRUGGLE IS ALL TOO REAL, GUYS.

Ahem.

I already did a post similar to this on the top 5 books on my birthday wish list, which you can view here. But, for the sake of variety, I’ll be sharing 10 different books.

So anyway, in this post, I will be highlighting the top books I’d love to receive from Santa (or anyone, really) this Christmas. Which is in, like, 3 days. *cue ecstatic fangirling*

ALRIGHTY, ON TO THE POST! (Or the rest of the post, anyway…)

image1.JPG

Shiver Trilogy Box Set by Maggie Stiefvater

I know, this isn’t really one book. It’s more like three. BUT I’LL BE EASY ON Y’ALL TRYING TO BUY ME PRESENTS AND GIVE YOU MORE OPTIONS, OKAY? OKAY.

Anyway, I would like to receive these books because Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is absolutely amazing, and the characters are amazing, and the plot is amazing, and OH MY GOODNESS GRACIOUS the romance is amazing. Plus, they’re so pretty….seriously, I could stare at them all day. If I saw them at the bookstore and didn’t find the synopsis intriguing, I would probably buy the books anyway purely based on the covers.

Ack, this is turning into a persuasive essay….but just know that that this would be my absolute top pick for Christmas presents.

Shatter Me by Taherah Mafi

I still somehow don’t know much about this series, but I’ve heard enough about it to make me want to read it. Plus, I’ve read a bunch of gorgeous quotes from this book, which makes me want to read it even more.

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

EEK, THIS BOOK. I’ve seen it in the bookstore so many times and wanted to buy it so bad, but there were too many other books to choose from. But it sounds SOOOOO GOOOOOD. And the cover is so pretty….

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Ever since reading Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson, I’ve been wanting to read more fairy tale retellings, and this one sounds perfect! It’s a retelling of Beauty & The Beast if I remember correctly, which sounds super interesting. There have definitely been some mixed reviews on this one, but I kind of have a feeling that I’m going to enjoy it….

How To Love by Katie Cotugno

This book has been on my TBR foooorever. FOREVER, I TELL YOU. I think I’ve seen this book in a bookstore only once, though I look for it every time. And that one time I saw this book, it had the not-so-pretty cover that made me shy away from it, telling myself that I’d see the pretty cover soon and buy it immediately. BUT IT NEVER HAPPENED.

This seems like exactly the type of book I would love, and I’ve heard a lot of great things about it. I’m all for themes like heartbreak and love and loss and acceptance and tragedy, and this book seems to have all of them.

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

I don’t know much about this book, except that it’s supposed to be a cutesy contemporary romance, and that the cover is pretty. (Eek, me and my pretty covers!) OH, AND THE ONE OF THE MAIN CHARACTERS HAS MY NAME. Which is pretty much my main motive for wanting to buy this book. I’ve seriously never encountered a character named Paige before!

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

This book deals with some serious issues. Incest, to be exact. I’ve heard from so many people that this book will absolutely rip your heart out and tear it into a bajillion pieces, but you all know how I feel about heavier books like this. Though they might be extremely hard to read, the results are extremely rewarding. This is why some of my favorite books are “issue books.”

Jellicoe Road by Melinda Marchetta

Guys, it’s about time I read a Melinda Marchetta book. Jellicoe Road seemed like the most intriguing one out of all her books, so I’m super excited to read this!

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

This book is another one that has been on my TBR forever. I love books about mental illnesses, so this should be really interesting. It’s about a boy named Craig who has a suicidal episode, which gets him checked into a mental hospital.

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

This is another one of those new-ish releases that I’m constantly seeing at the bookstore, but I’m always thinking that I’ll get around to buying it on my next bookstore visit. Except, I never do.

From what I understand, this book is a coming of age story that centers on the lives of teenagers Mira, Sebby, and Jeremy. The synopsis sounds a bit like The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, both of which I adored.

Which books would you like to see under your Christmas tree this year? I’d love to hear your thoughts, and as always, feel free to link your TTT post down below so I can check it out!

 

13 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Christmas Tree

  1. Great list! It’s a Kind of Funny Story is on my list too. I’ve been reading a lot of books about characters with mental illnesses recently, but this one sounds like the best so far – except possibly the Perks of Being A Wallflower. Hope you have a great Christmas! (Also I love your blog theme).
    Here’s my list: https://beccaeatsbooksblog.wordpress.com/2015/12/21/top-eleven-books-i-wouldnt-mind-santa-leaving-under-my-tree-this-year/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jellicoe Road was AMAZING! One of the most unforgettable books I’ve ever read. Warning though, the first half of the book is really confusing… But the confusion is worth it, TRUST ME!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

