Movie Review: Room by Emma Donoghue

MV5BMjE4NzgzNzEwMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTMzMDE0NjE@._V1_SX214_AL_.jpgRoom by Emma Donoghue

Directed by Lenny Abrahamson

Released September 4th, 2015

Starring: Brie Larson, Jacob Tremblay, Sean Bridgers

Rating: 4 stars

After five-year-old Jack and his mother escape from the enclosed surroundings that Jack has known his entire life, the boy makes a thrilling discovery.

-IMDb description

My Thoughts

I went into this movie with incredibly high expectations. I hadn’t read the book, sure, and therefore didn’t really know what to expect plot-wise, but I’ve heard amazing things about it and the trailer looked incredible. But honestly, despite my high expectations, I never expected to be this blown away by it.

The story centers on the main character Jack, a 5 year-old boy (Jacob Tremblay) and his mother Joy (Brie Larson). I can’t even begin to describe what an amazing job these actors did in playing these roles; I was completely astounded how both of them managed to capture the voice of these two characters so seamlessly.

Joy, the mother, has been kidnapped and held captive by a man for 7 years. It was amazing to see how she managed to be such an incredible person and mother even after all these years, and she’s honestly one of the strongest characters I’ve met. The movie shows some of her daily accounts and experiences with Jack, and her experiences seemed to be depicted extremely realistically.

After living in an enclosed room for years, Joy and Jack finally escape. I can only imagine what it would be like to finally be released into the world after living in a tiny garden shed for the first 5 years of your life, but Jacob Tremblay managed to capture this experience perfectly. The movie accounts on Jack’s experience of getting to know all the people, places, and things we all take for granted, and it was a really amazing and awe-inspiring to see.

My only issue with this film was that some parts seemed to be a bit tedious; I think they could have shortened it a bit. However, I don’t think this took away much from my enjoyment level because of the long-lasting affect it had on me.

Final Thought

There were definitely some scenes that made me tear up, but overall, it was more of an uplifting and enlightening experience. Though it was a bit tedious at times, I don’t think this took away very much from my enjoyment level due to the long-lasting affect it had on me. Room was a beautiful, well-done, honest, inspiring film, and I’m definitely looking forward to seeing it again. Definitely recommend!

Rating: 4/5 Stars

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: Room by Emma Donoghue

  1. They made this into a movie? Wow. I don’t really watch movies all that much, so I didn’t even know. The book was absolutely wonderful, though. If you get the chance to read it, definitely go for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh I want to watch this! BUT. I need to read it first. And omg I’m such a slacker…I even own this book but I haven’t touched it yet?! It sounds like such a sad premise, though, so I hope the ending is a little lighter?! *gulps* I GOTTA READ AND WATCH IT AND FIND OUT!!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had no idea this was made into a movie. I doubt I’d ever go watch it though because the book was brilliant! I don’t want it to be ruined for me. I wrote a review about it on my blog, I am curious to know if you felt the same emotions while watching the movie as I did when I read the book. The content was so deep and disturbing.

    Nihaad – Read & Seek

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

