Top 10 Books That Tackle Tough Issues

toptentuesday.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/feature hosted and created by The Broke and the Bookish. 

This week’s topic was a freebie, so I decided to do one of the archived topics: Top 10 “issue books.” Many of my favorite books tackle tough issues, so I thought this would be an interesting topic to do.

10917.jpgMy Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

I read this book a few weeks ago, and while I may not have loved it overall, I think it provides an extremely unique and honest perspective on topics such as cancer, grief, and guilt. It is an extremely important book to read and really impacted my perspective on illnesses such as cancer and how people are affected by it. It was super tough to read in some parts, but I think the effect is definitely worthwhile.

 

18140047.jpgLove Letters To The Dead by Ava Dellaira

This is one of my favorite books of all time, and it’s also super underrated, in my opinion. I don’t talk about this book nearly enough, which is probably because I read this book years ago and barely remember anything about it. Despite this, I still manage to get the chills whenever I think about it, both from the gorgeous writing style and from the overall effect it left on me. It also has an extremely unique concept, and kept me hooked the entire time. I would recommend this to anyone, but be warned: STOCK UP ON YOUR TISSUES. I’m dead serious. I think I went through at least a pack of tissues while I was reading this.

7514925.jpgTiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

You probably wouldn’t normally think of this as an “issue book,” but I found that it dealt with some tough themes such as heartbreak, loss,  and acceptance in an entirely unique and beautiful way. It is a fairy tale retelling, but I thought the slower pacing caused it to read more like a contemporary, which is probably part of the reason I liked it so much. I found myself experiencing a huge array of emotions while reading this, and I thought the overall message it gave was really important and inspiring.

 

22628.jpgThe Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Honestly, I think this may be my favorite book of all time. I know you’re probably thinking that I say that all the time about all the books, but I’m serious when I say it this time. I don’t think I will ever get tired of re-reading it or re-watching the movie or Googling quotes from it to decorate my notebooks and binder with. It’s one of those books that I didn’t really appreciate while reading it, but after I finished it and had time to really digest it, I became OBSESSED. The writing style is absolutely gorgeous and really simplistic, and I really appreciated and loved how the author dealt with some of the issues the book presented.

18460392.jpgAll The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I honestly can’t even begin to explain how I feel about this book. Basically, IT’S AMAZING. AND INSPIRING. AND ENLIGHTENING. AND BEAUTIFUL. AND GUT-WRENCHINGLY HEARTBREAKING. It’s about mental illnesses and suicide and romance and acceptance and being a freak and basically all the other things I absolutely adore in a book. I mean, I don’t adore when books deal with these topics in a way that is not okay, but this book was absolutely not not okay. It’s the opposite of not okay. IT’S A-OKAY!

So, you probably noticed that I didn’t get to 10. And don’t worry, because I can count. I just decided to do 5 because a) I’m seriously running out of time and words, and b) Having only my top 5 would really emphasize how much I loved and appreciated these books without forcing you to have to sift through all my word vomit to try to find recommendations.

ANYWAY, what books would you add to this list? Do we have any favorites in common? As always, feel free to drop a link of your TTT in the comments so I can check it out!

 

18 thoughts on “Top 10 Books That Tackle Tough Issues

  1. Great post! I recently bought Love Letters to the Dead and I can’t wait to read it! After my exams are over I have three days off so I know I’ll get to it then!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooo oh i loved All the Bright Places – it was such a lovely book. One of my recent favorites is actually a series call All for the Game (or The Foxhole Court) by Nora Sakavic. It deals with abuse and drugs among a plethora of other things. Absolutely amazing series c:

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YES to Tiger Lily. You’re right – I don’t normally expect retellings to deal with tough topics, but this one handled death and heartbreak so, so beautifully. I’m far overdue for a re-read! And The Perks of Being a Wallflower is another great choice – as cliche as it is, “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite” is one of my favorite quotes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Month In Review // January 2016 | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

