Book Haul! // January 2016

Hi guys! I know I’ve been kind of absent on the blogosphere lately, but I was hoping to make it up to you guys with this post. I hope you are all having a lovely Friday evening! January is almost over….seriously, guys, where has the time gone?! This month was a good month for me in terms of saving money, but I unfortunately didn’t acquire as many books as I normally do. I guess that’s kind of a good thing, but my obviously-not-full-enough shelves say otherwise…..anyway, I hope you enjoy!

444d1758-6acb-43e4-a780-4ab0c0107abd.jpg

The Shining by Stephan King // The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton // Cinder by Marissa Meyer // Scarlet by Marissa Meyer // Cress by Marissa Meyer

11588.jpgThe Shining by Stephen King

GUYS, I’M FINALLY READING A STEPHEN KING BOOK. And guys, I’m also terrified. AND I HAVEN’T EVEN STARTED IT YET. I’ve never read any adult horror, so I figured I should start with the best of the best, right???

 

 

 

 

18166936.jpgThe Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book, so I was super excited when I bought it earlier this month. I started reading it and got a decent amount of the way through it…..but honestly, I found it really boring. The first half of the book is purely Ava’s family history, and it’s reeeeeaaaally slow-moving. Normally I’m okay with reading slower-paced books, but this one honestly more like homework than reading for pleasure. I’m definitely not giving up on it yet because the writing is gorgeous and the story has some great potential, but as a mood-reader, I need to be in the right mindset to read certain books. Currently I’m in the mood for really fast-paced and exciting stories, so I don’t think I’ll be getting back to this one anytime soon.

11235712.jpgCinder by Marissa Meyer- 4 Stars

I loved this one! Definitely lived up to the hype. While Kai definitely bugged me at some times and a few parts left me super confused, I have no complaints beyond that. The writing style was gorgeous, the world-building complex and on-point, and I absolutely loved Cinder’s character. I kind of want to be a cyborg when I grow up now.

 

 

 

13206760.jpgScarlet by Marissa Meyer- 4.5 Stars

Wow, this book completely surpassed my expectations! Somehow the plot managed to be even more exciting and fascinating than Cinder,Β and it kept me guessing the entire time. I absolutely adored the way Meyer encorporates the fairy tale aspects in each of her books- I will definitely be reading many more fairy tale retellings in the future! My favorite part of this book, however, was definitely the characters. I loved Scarlet with her fierce protectiveness and stubbornness and determination, and I loved Wolf even more!

 

13206828.jpgCress by Marissa Meyer

I’m currently reading this, and I’m enjoying it so far! I can already tell Cress and I are going to get along. And seriously, bonus points on that gorgeous cover! I WANT HAIR LIKE THAT, PLEASE AND THANK YOU.

 

 

 

 

* * * * *

SO, I GOT TO 5. I’m pretty proud of myself considering my severe issue with self-control when it comes to bookstores, and I’m overall pretty happy with these titles.

So, which one of these books (or of the ones I haven’t read, at least) do you recommend me reading first? Which is your favorite book in the Lunar Chronicles? Oh, and does anyone want to bet how long I can last while reading The Shining without peeing myself? Please, let me know everything in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Book Haul! // January 2016

  1. I liked The Shining. But I also enjoy reading horror books and I’m usually not scared. Did you watch movie already? Because I was surprised, how the movie is different from the book.
    But I believe you will enjoy this book and won’t be scared πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So cool! I am also looking forward to reading The Shining, but right now I’m reading Carrie, which is also by Stephen King. It’s freaky!! You should read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

