Top 10 Books I’ve Read Recently That Were “Out Of My Comfort Zone”

TTT.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Hi guys! I know I haven’t been posting very much recently, but I’ve been really busy with school lately. I hope you’re all having a lovely Tuesday evening!

This week’s topic is your top 10 books you’ve enjoyed recently that weren’t in your typical genre or were out of your comfort zone. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to start reading more books that weren’t in my preferred genres (contemporary romance, mystery/thriller, coming of age), so this TTT prompt is in perfect timing! Some of the genres I don’t reach for quite as often include fantasy, science fiction, and adult fiction.

* * * * *

Adult Fiction

16120760.jpg  155079581.jpg

YA Fantasy

11235712.jpg  13206760.jpg  13206828.jpg

YA Fairytale Retellings

7514925.jpg

* * * * *

As you can see, I obviously do NOT venture very much outside my chosen genre. Probably about 95% of the books I read are contemporary. And that’s completely fine! I often do love reading books in other genres such as fantasy and science fiction, but I know my heart will always belong to contemporary romance and coming of age novels.

Did anyone else struggle with this topic as much as I did? What do you consider your typical genre? What YA fantasy/sci-fi books would you recommend to a newbie like me? (I’ve read Throne of Glass and the Lunar Chronicles, but that’s about it….)

 

11 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I’ve Read Recently That Were “Out Of My Comfort Zone”

    • AHHHH, MARIE! Me Before You is soooooo good. I’ve heard her other books are amazing as well, so I definitely have a lot to look forward to. And The Lunar Chronicles are amazing as well – I’m glad I’m not the last one to read that series haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I didn’t even do this week’s TTT because I barely ever venture out of my “comfort zone”. That being said, I do have a slightly larger comfort zone. I read mostly Fantasy, but I also love contemporaries, and retellings (just to list my top 3). Mysteries were my favorite as a little kid. Thanks for the great TTT, Paige!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting! I’m a little jealous, because I feel like my comfort zone is so small – literally about 95% of what I read is contemporary. I have loved sci-fi and fantasy in the past, though, so I’m hoping to re-immerse myself in those genres in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles yet, hopefully soon, since everyone raves about it. I love fantasy so I could definitely give you a couple of recommendations. If you haven’t read them, you should definitely try the Percy Jackson books, they’re more MG than YA, but they’re really good. The Artemis Fowl series is also a pretty great fantasy series, as are the Skulduggery Pleasant books. The Raven Cycle books are also a great series. Oh and of course if you haven’t read Harry Potter yet then you definitely should! Sorry if that was a lot, fantasy is my go-to genre!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/02/23/top-ten-tuesday-45/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

