Life-y Update | Swimming, School, and a Short Hiatus

Hi guys! I know….it’s been a loooong time. I’ve been feeling really guilty lately about not getting very many posts up, so I decided to try to squeeze in a post today to explain myself.

Basically, I’ve just been really busy lately. With everything. It’s one of those months where all your teachers seem to get together and coordinate all the projects so they’re all due in the same week, you know? I know I’m only in junior high so I still have a LOT of homework to look forward to, but….I don’t know. I’m just a bit overwhelmed.

In other news! I had a swim meet last weekend, which went really well. The last few meets haven’t gone so well for me so I was really nervous for this one, but I ended up doing great and having a lot of fun. I did the 200 back and the 200 fly, and I ended up getting 8th in the 200 fly. I also dropped a bit of time between those two events, so I was pretty pleased.

Anyway. I figured I should talk a little about my recent reads, because, you know….this is a book blog. I finished reading The Shock Of The Fall by Nathan Filer last week, which was AMAZING. Definitely confusing in some parts, but the confusion was well worth it. I also read It’s Kind Of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini last week, which was pretty good. The writing style was beautiful and the characters were relatable and fleshed out, but the novel didn’t quite have the lasting affect on me that I was hoping for.

I’m currently reading Maybe In Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid, and I’m loving it! I’ve been trying to branch out and get more into Adult Fiction, and the Adult novels I’ve read recently have been great so far. If you have any recommendations for a teen pretty new to Adult Fiction, I’d love to hear them!

As I’ve said previously in this post, I’ve been having a lot going on recently. And this probably isn’t going to end anytime soon, so I’ve been thinking about going on a blogging hiatus until the end of next week, which is when my biggest school project is due. Hopefully I will be a lot less busy by then, but we’ll see. I really miss having the time to read and blog.

Anyway, what have you been reading recently? Do you have any adult fiction/NA recommendations for me, preferably contemporary? What have you guys been up to lately?

Leave a Reply

