Top 10 Books To Read If You’re In The Mood For a Good Cry

TTT.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Hi guys! I know I’m supposed to be on hiatus, but I just couldn’t help myself today. It’s kinda frustrating when JUST as you announce you’re going on a hiatus, you’re suddenly not very busy anymore, you know? Anyway, we’ll see how it goes. It probably won’t last long, but we can always hope!

This week’s topic is top 10 books to read if you’re in the mood for a certain genre. I’m definitely a huge mood reader, so this topic will be pretty interesting to write about for me. I’m currently in the mood for something that will give me a good cry, so I decided to base my post this week around my absolute favorite tear-jerkers.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When I say “my absolute favorite tear-jerkers,” I basically mean my absolute favorite BOOKS because all my favorite books are tear-jerkers. So I do apologize if you guys have already heard about these books WAY too many times from me – honestly, I can’t help myself.

* * * * *

21969786.jpgMore Than This by Patrick Ness

THIS BOOK. GUUUUYS, this book is amazing. This was my first ever Patrick Ness book, and it completely blew me away. I won’t say too much about the plot because I believe it’s best to go into it blind, but trust me when I say I cried bucketfulls. And I don’t think it was even supposed to be an emotional book! Oh, Paige….you seriously need to get ahold of yourself….

 

 

18460392.jpgAll The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Now, I know there were some mixed reviews on this one. And I know that it’s obviously not perfect. But honestly, what book is? I’m not going to say it’s my all-time favorite book, because a) picking favorites really stresses me out, and b) that would be lying because I pretty much say that about every book of ever, but is most definitely one of my all-time favorites.

 

 

8621462.jpgA Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Yes, another Ness book. DANGIT, MR. NESS! WHY DO YOUR BOOKS HAVE TOO BE SO DAMN EMOTIONAL?!!

But, really. A Monster Calls is no doubt one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. (See – not picking favorites here! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) The gorgeous writing style really shines through in this one, and the concept is really unique. The illustrations are beautiful, too, so be sure to get the illustrated version if you’re thinking about buying a copy!

15507958.jpgMe Before You by Jojo Moyes

This is honestly by far the most emotional book I’ve ever encountered. I don’t think I’ve ever really met someone who could read this book without sobbing their eyeballs out. I’m not saying you most definitely will cry, but be sure to mentally prepare yourself if you’re planning to get through this book without crying!

This is another really beautiful book. It’s beautifully written, and the characters are so fleshed out that you’ll think you’ve actually met them.

 

18140047.jpgLove Letters To The Dead by Ava Dellaira

I read this book years ago, but it’s still one of my favorites. Definitely the most gorgeously-written book I’ve ever read. The pacing is a bit slow, but I never got bored because I was focusing on the amazing writing style. If I remember correctly, this was the first book I ever cried at.

Also: If you still need to be persuaded to read this book, start googling some of the quotes it contains. Trust me, they’re very convincing.

 

22628.jpgThe Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Another one of my all-time favorites. I probably don’t need to say much about this one because you’ve all probably read it. And if not, you absolutely need to.

Also, it’s a great movie. One of my all-time favorite movies, actually.

 

 

99561.jpgLooking For Alaska by John Green

Okay, so you know that super duper popular book that absolutely everyone knows about by the same author as LFA? You know, the one that may or may not have a bright blue cover and a title that starts with “the” and ends with “stars”? Oh, yeah. The Fault In Our Stars.ย Well, I really liked TFIOS. Like, really liked. But, I didn’t love. I was one of those in the minority who didn’t cry (But – Paige! How is that possible? You cry at literally everything!!!), and it didn’t have much of a lasting affect on me. Looking For Alaska was really the book that made me cry. It was really the book that allowed my to relate, to connect, to feel – in my opinion, it is so much better.

* * * * *

SO! I know I’m probably missing a lot of books, but these are the ones I could think of off the top of my head. Now tell me: are you a mood reader? What is the genre you typically reach for? What books would you add to this list?

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Books To Read If You’re In The Mood For a Good Cry

Leave a Reply

