Currently Reading: The Shining by Stephen King

11588.jpgI’ve seen these types of posts on a few other blogs I follow, and I thought it would be a fun idea. Basically, posts like this will be (hopefully) about every book I read that I don’t plan on writing a review on. This will give you guys some insight on my thoughts about everything I am reading and what I think about it, because I know I often don’t let you guys know!

So, I’ve followed (some of) your guys’s advice and decided to start reading The Shining!Ā This was a book I’ve kind of always wanted to read ever since hearing my mom tell me it was one of the scariest things she had ever experienced.

I went into this novel knowing that I was going to be terrified. I mean, how couldn’t I? Stephen King is known all throughout the world as being one of the best – or maybe even the best – horror writers of all time. And I’ve never even read one adult horror book, so I wouldn’t call myself too experienced in that genre. šŸ˜‰

Anyway, I’ve been reading and loving this novel for the past few days. I actually haven’t gotten anywhere near as scared as I thought I would get, but believe me – I’m betting that will change soon. I’m only about 3/4 of the way through, anyway. That certainly doesn’t mean that it’s not scaring me at all, because it definitely is. I have a rule that I can’t read it after 7 at night, because I’ll get scared shitless if I do.

It’s really no wonder that Stephen King is such as well-known and renowned author. I went into this novel not expecting very much for some reason, but it has honestly blown me away. The writing style is amazing, the characters are realistic and fleshed out, and the circumstances he puts the reader through are simply terrifying. I’m hoping to read some of his other works in the future, if I ever do manage to make it through this one without terrifying myself too much.

SO! Have you read The Shining? What did you think about it? What other King books would you recommend?

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading: The Shining by Stephen King

Leave a Reply

