Currently Reading: The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma

18044277.jpgThe Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma

So, you may have remembered how in an earlier post I mentioned how I have not yet read a single 5-star book in 2016.

Yup, you heard me right.

I have not read a single 5-star – or even 4.5 star – book in 2016.

In fact, the last 5-star book I read would have to be Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson, which was way back in November.

Why haven’t I been reading any 5-star books lately? There are plenty of possible explanations for this, but that’s another topic for another time.

My point is, I think this book might be my breakthrough. It’s one of those books that I knew I was going to fall in love with just based off of the title, cover, and Goodreads synopsis. But for some strange reason, I didn’t end up reading it until now.

This book sucked me in from the first sentence. I mean, come on. There’s no way I couldn’t be instantly captivated by a book with an opening paragraph like this:

We went wild that hot night. We howled, we raged, we screamed. We were girls – some of us fourteen and fifteen; some sixteen, seventeen – but when the locks came undone, the doors of our cells gaping open and no one to shove us back in, we made the noise of savage animals, of men.

Sounds intriguing, no??

I honestly don’t know what genre this book is, and I’m not going to look it up, either, because that might be a spoiler. It’s giving me a kind of psychological-thriller feel, but I’m sensing that there may be some paranormal elements involved as well….I really don’t know. The Goodreads synopsis is pretty vague, so I went into this book knowing pretty much nothing. Which is definitely part of the reason why this book has kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time – because I have absolutely no idea what’s going on.

The writing is absolutely gorgeous as well. The prose flows so well that it almost seems poetic in some parts.

We were alive. I remember it that way. We were still alive, and we couldn’t see how close we were to the end.

Even now, my hands are literally itching to get my hands back on this novel. I’m definitely looking forward to (hopefully) having some of my many questions answered and reading the rest of Nova Ren Suma’s works!


So tell me: have you read The Walls Around Us? What did you think? Have you read any of Nova Ren Suma’s other books? What are you currently reading?

 

One thought on “Currently Reading: The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma

  1. I enjoyed this novel very much! It was definitely something different and fresh to read! I go into most novels I read not knowing anything at all- which is probably why I get confused sometimes haha- but I love it because I feel like I have no sense of where the story can go! I hope you enjoy the rest of it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

