3 Reasons Why I Love The Perks of Being a Wallflower (And You Should Too)

5 Reasons Why I Love The Perks Of Being A Wallflower 2.jpg

Earlier today, it crossed my mind that it had been exactly a year ago since I first read my favorite book of all time. I know I say this about a lot of books, but most of these novels come and go. There’s always one book that I keep coming back to. One book that gives me goosebumps whenever the mere title of it is mentioned. One book that I have quotes from written down on dozens of sticky notes that I put in my binder so whenever I open it up it gives me a smile. This book, my friends, is The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

You’ve probably read it before. Or at least heard of it. Perks is one of the most popular and well-known YA books of all time, and it’s no wonder why so many people fell in love with it after its release. So, to celebrate the fact that I read my all-time favorite book exactly a year ago, I decided to write a post highlighting the top 3 reasons I first fell in love with this beautiful novel.


The Long-Lasting Effect

It deals with some heavy topics such as life, love, friendship, acceptance, and growing up in a very light-hearted and matter-of-fact way so that you’re not overwhelmed, just touched. I’m not saying this isn’t a sad book – because trust me, you’ll be sobbing bucketfuls. What I’m saying is that while it does manage to take some really important issues into account, the effect it will have on you is ultimately very uplifting and inspiring.

It’s So Relatable

This is another reason Perks made such a lasting impression on me – how insanely relatable Charlie’s voice was for me. Throughout the entire novel, I literally wanted to shout out, “Oh my gosh, SAME!” Charlie and I have so much in common – we’re both an introvert, or “wallflower;” we both appreciate the small things in life; we both have fierce passions we wouldn’t give up for the world; we both are extremely observant and insightful – the list goes on and on. Although I’ve never (thankfully) had to go through any of the traumatic experiences Charlie went through, I still connected and related to him on so many levels.

The Writing

In my opinion, an incredible writing style is by far the most important thing when it comes to a good book. Stephen Chbosky’s novel is one of the most beautifully-written books I’ve ever read, and it contains some of my favorite quotes. The writing style is very simplistic and matter-of-fact, but it still flows wonderfully. This prose captures Charlie’s unique personality in a way that makes you empathize, understand, and relate to him. The following is one of my all-time favorite quotes from Perks:

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”

Beautiful, isn’t it? And so darn relatable.


Have you read The Perks of Being a Wallflower? What did you think of it? Can you think of any books that are somewhat similar to Perks that you would recommend to me? 

One thought on “3 Reasons Why I Love The Perks of Being a Wallflower (And You Should Too)

  1. I’ve heard plenty of people complain about the story not living up to all the hype, but they can go sit in a corner!
    It wasn’t my favorite book ever, but I thought this book was lovely and special. I will remember it fondly for a long time.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

