12 Struggles Only Bookworms Will Understand

Hi guys! I was feeling like a discussion-y/list type post today, so I decided to create a list of some of the struggles only bookworms will understand. I hope you find this post somewhat amusing. πŸ™‚

Alrighty, let’s get to the listing!


  1. Crying over a book in public. Or happy-dancing. Or ecstatic laughing. Or any display of extreme emotion, honestly.

2. When you tell your friends that you’re looking forward to going “shopping” that afternoon, and they respond by saying, “Oooh! Can we join you?” Only to have you tell them that by shopping, you meant a 3-hour trip to Barnes & Noble.Β Alone. #awkward


3. The constant struggles of bookshelf organization. Should you color-coordinate or alphabetize? Group by series or by release date? The possibilities are endless.


4. Seeing someone reading a book in public and trying to get a glimpse of the title while trying to act as non-stalkerish as possible. Because having a stranger leaning over your shoulder and watching your every move is totally not creepy.


5. Attempting to walk by a bookstore without purchasing a minimum of 3 books. Haha, not gonna happen.

 


6. That annoyed feeling you get when all your friends want to go out and watch a movie but you can’t because you haven’t read the book yet. #sorrynotsorry


7. Finding a comfortable reading position is a never-ending struggle.


8. That moment when someone wants to borrow your flawless hardcover signed edition of one of your favorite books. It’s not that you don’t want them to read it, it’s just….have you ever heard of the library? ‘Cause that’s how you can dog-ear pages and spill gatorade on the pages without getting your head ripped off by me.


9. When you’re OBVIOUSLY extremely engrossed in your current read…..and then someone rudely interrupts you.


10. The struggle of trying to walk and read at the same time. Trust me, guys, it’s harder than it looks. This kind of stuff takes some serious skill.


11. People thinking you’re an obsessive weirdo because you refuse to leave the house without a novel. Or five. First-world problems, guys. πŸ˜‰


12. People expecting you to carry on with your life after finishing a really good book. It’s like loosing a best friend! Sure, you might see each other again, but it won’t ever be quite the same.


Which of these struggles can you relate to? What would you add to this list? I’d love to hear what you have to say below! πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “12 Struggles Only Bookworms Will Understand

  1. Totally agree with number 6!!! My friends get annoyed at me all the time. And I always spend like at least an hour in the bookstore! When I’m hanging out with my friends I’d just tell them to leave me and go to other stores hahaha πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha this was great! I can relate to almost all of them. The comfortable position one made me laugh because I feel that struggle every day. I hate when I get interrupted while reading, I always say ‘I’m trying to read’ & I have a bookmark that says this too! πŸ˜› I also can never leave the house without a novel, NEVER! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Agree with them all! And add: getting no sleep as you tell yourself “one more chapter” until you finish the book (and still have to get up for work/school the next day) and missing your subway stop and having to walk a few extra blocks to work because you couldn’t stop reading RIGHT THEN. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVE this post. Especially finding a suitable reading position! And the shopping trip. Heh. I feel disheartened if I don’t get to buy anything from a bookstore. Even if I’ve got a towering TBR pile!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY I’m glad you liked it! And I’m glad you can relate haha! I literally haven’t been able to walk by even ONE bookstore in the last few years without buying a book- it’s becoming such a problem for me! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Hahaha yes to all of these!!! I understand the organising the bookshelf one on a person level! Can someone please just tell me the best way to do it!? Take the options away from me hahah!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

