Currently Reading: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

24934065.jpgRebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

So, if you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’re probably very, very surprised that I happen to be reading this book right now. You probably understand that about 97% of everything I read is contemporary, and that this percentage probably isn’t going to change anytime soon.

Anyway, I received a gorgeous hardcover copy of this book in my Uppercase subscription box last month (which I meant to write a review on….oops) and decided to give into the hype monster and read it. I started it a couple days ago, and now I’m on, like, chapter 6.

It’s not that it’s not an interesting concept, because it is. It just seems to be moving kind of slow, I guess? (Keep in mind that this is coming from a girl whose favorite books are super in-depth, slow-moving contemporaries.) I can’t really say much about the world-building because I’m only a few chapters in, but so far it seems kind of confusing. This might just be because I’m a contemporary girl and have trouble getting used to other genres, but I really don’t know.

I’m a really big fan of the writing style, though! The prose flows perfectly and seems to depict Amani’s emotions really well. It’s also really, really descriptive, and it kind of feels like an info-dump at times. This is probably why this book feels so slow-moving (and possibly kind of boring??) to me so far.

As far as characters go, I really like Amani. She’s super kick-ass and determined and sassy and reckless at times. I don’t know any of the side characters too well right now, but they seem kind of neutral to me so far.


Have you read Rebel of the Sands? What did you think? If you felt like the first part of the book was kind of slow-moving like I do, do you think it gets better? What are you currently reading?

One thought on “Currently Reading: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

  1. I’ve been hearing so many things about this book–generally of the positive sort, so I’m hopeful? I’m wary of slow pacings in fantasy books, but… this seems like too good of a book to resist. I can’t wait to see what you think of it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

