Now Quoting: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sàenz

12000020.jpg Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Published by Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers on February 12th 2012

Page Count: 359

Genre(s): YA, contemporary, romance, coming-of-age, LBBTQ+

Format: Hardcover, library copy

Would I recommend? Absolutely! This is one of the most beautifully-written and realistic novels I’ve ever read, and definitely one of my favorites from 2015. You can check out my review here if you’re interested. 🙂

My Rating: ★★★★★


This Printz Honor Book is a “tender, honest exploration of identity” (Publishers Weekly) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship.

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

-Goodreads.com synopsis

I read this book around the time I started this blog (8 months or so), and I adored it so much it still gives me goosebumps whenever I think about it. It was such a beautifully-written novel that I could have chosen dozens of quotes to feature in this week’s ‘Now Quoting’ post, but I chose the following quote because it particularly resonated with me.


“I know there may be universes out there where I made different choices and they led me somewhere else, led me to someone else. And my heart breaks for every single version of me that didn't end up with you.” 2.jpg

I don’t really know why this quote resonated with me so much. I guess it was just because it was so well-written, and so incredibly relatable. I have countless questions I ask myself every day similar to the ones this quote asked, and I think it’s amazing that Benjamin Alire Sàenz was able to capture this in his writing.


Have you read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe? What did you think? What are some books that you’ve found particularly quotable lately?

4 thoughts on “Now Quoting: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sàenz

  1. All the FEELS are returning. The FEELS.

    Benjamin Alire Saenz is such a quotable writer and all his works are excellent. Just pick a random one and you’ll immediately fall in love with it and find a dozens of beautiful quotes.

    The one you chose is so real. Why, why, why?? Why are human emotions so wonderful, beautiful, and complicated?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My friends have read Ari & Dante and they loved it. They keep telling me to get it but I have a really bad record when it comes to LGBT books. I didn’t even like Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You didn’t like Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda….AHHH! That was, like, one of my favorites from last year! I really liked Ari & Dante because it focuses more on friendship and growing up and stuff instead of on the romance like in a lot of other books. Similar to The Perks of Being a Wallflower, you know? If you’ve read that. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

