Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon Is FINALLY Here! (This Weekend, That Is…)

x35g-e1t.jpg

Hi guys! I hope you’re all having a lovely day. ❤

The Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon is an event that I’ve really been looking forward to ever since participating in it last October and loving it. If you’re not familiar with this read-a-thon, it’s basically a 24-hour period in which you try to read as many books as you can. Participants update their reading progress on their blog, Instagram, Goodreads, or pretty much any other kind of social media. It’s a really fun experience because a) it’s the perfect excuse to spend an entire day reading, and b) people from all over the world are also participating in the read-a-thon and it’s really cool to be able to interact with them and cheer them on. There’s also writing prompts/challenges and prizes given out at every hour! If you’re interested in signing up, check out the website here. 

My Goals!

  • When I did this read-a-thon last year, I only managed to get 8 hours in because I had a swim meet that morning. Unfortunately, I’m also having a swim meet this weekend, so I’m aiming for around 8 hours again.
  • Last year I managed to read 2 books within the 8-hour period, but they were both 500+ paged novels. (I know, what on earth was I thinking?) Anyway, this year I’m going to aim for 2 smaller-sized books to give myself a little leeway and make sure I don’t feel too pressurized.

Book Haul!

I went on a book buying ban 3 months ago, so this was my first purchase since, like….December? And it was with a gift card, so does that count? My real motivation for going on my book ban was that I wanted to save up to buy ALL THE BOOKS at Yallwest (WHICH IS HAPPENING IN LIKE A WEEK YAYAYAYAY), and I have to say that I’m pretty proud of myself for sticking to it for such a long time! (Sometimes it’s kind of sad how excited I get over the most ridiculous things…. #bookwormproblems)

Anyway, I received these beauties in the mail today, and I’m absolutely ECSTATIC to read all of them!

51i7YmmTqnL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg  51IWflUzIaL._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg  5194Yo0pYDL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

41B2tuq+jPL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg  51ebDdODXcL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers | DREAMOLOGY by Lucy Keating | THE NIGHT CIRCUS by Erin Morgenstern | FORBIDDEN by Tabitha Suzuma | HOW TO LOVE by Katie Cotugno


Are you participating in the read-a-thon this weekend? What are you planning to read? Have you read any of the books I mentioned in my book haul, and if so, what did you think? I’d love to hear from you in the comments! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon Is FINALLY Here! (This Weekend, That Is…)

  1. Good luck with the readathon! I am going to be participating, I’m planning on reading Saga Vol. 1, and probably a book by Sarah Dessen or one of Meg Cabot (The Princess Diaries), but I might change my mind 🙂

    The Night Circus is AMAZING, is one of my favorite books of all time. Fun fact: I started reading it last year, on this same readathon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

