Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon! | April 2016

PczMoPoN.jpg

I know, I know: I’m LATE. By no less than….8 hours? Ish? I just finished a swim meet about an hour ago, so I’m hungry and exhausted and SO PUMPED UP FOR THE READ-A-THON! (Ish….?)


Introduction Meme

Q: What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

A: I’m reading from a lovely town in  southern California! (Please don’t stalk me.)


Q: Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

A: Ugh, I knew this question was coming! I’ve been looking forward to reading all the books in my stack for weeks, so that’s super tough to answer. I guess Dreamology by Lucy Keating and How To Love by Katie Cotugno would be my current top picks.

image2.JPG


Q: Which snack are you most looking forward to?

A: EVERYTHING. (Don’t judge me; I’m a hungry swimmer.)

image1.JPG


Q: Tell us a little something about yourself!

A: Okay, I kind of suck at this kind of question….I guess I just finished a super tiring swim meet earlier today? I did the 800 free, 200 free, 200 back, and 200 breast, if by any chance you’re a swimmer and happen to have any idea about what these events are. And if you’re not a swimmer: just know that they’re really, really hard.

And I also kind of just realized that I already stated that earlier in this post. Oops.


Q: If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

A: yes, I did this read-a-thon last October. I guess one thing I’ll try to change is not putting so much pressure on myself to finish a certain number of books, you know? I mean, I have goals, but they’re pretty low-key.


UPDATE: 3:30pm

Hi guys! I’m back with my first mini-challenge – the “Share a Quote” Challenge! This challenge is hosted by Nea @ My Life Is A Fairytale That Will Never End. Basically, the point is that you share a quote from your current read or a book you read earlier in the read-a-thon. Pretty simple, right?

The quote I chose to share with you guys is:

“I don’t believe in forgiveness. I think if you hurt someone, it becomes part of you both. Each of you just has to live with it and the person you hurt gets to decide if they want to give you the chance to do it again. If they do and you’re a good person, you won’t make the same mistakes. Just whole new ones.”

This quote is from All The Rage by Courtney Summers, which I’m currently about 75% of the way through and I’m loving it.

UPDATE: 5:00pm

Aaaaaand I’m back for another update, guys! This time it’s the Mid-Event Survey.

The Survey

Q: What are you reading right now?

A: Nothing, at the moment! I just finished All The Rage by Courtney Summers and now I’m trying to figure out what I should read next. I’m leaning towards either Dreamology or How To Love.


Q: How many books have you read so far?

A: One! It was All The Rage by Courtney Summers, which I absolutely adored. It’s such an honest, important book that I think everyone should read and I’m so glad I read it. My second 5-star read of 2016! Review to come.


Q: What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

A: I’m hoping to finish or at least get a decent chunk out of another book, but once again, I’m having trouble deciding between Dreamology and How To Love. Opinions regarding these two books would be much appreciated!


Q: Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

A: Nope, fortunately. My family knows not to bug a tired, grumpy swimmer during a read-a-thon.


Q: What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

A: Um….no surprises I can think of yet. Sorry, I’m boring.


UPDATE: 9:30pm

Hi guys! I just wanted to let you know that I’ve successfully finished my goal of reading for 8 hours straight during this read-a-thon! I managed to finish two amazing books during those 8 hours – I literally finished my second one right at 9:00pm! If you guys are participating in the read-a-thon, I hope you’re having a great time! If not, I hope you’re having an amazing weekend nonetheless.

Anyway, the two novels I managed to read were All The Rage by Courtney Summers (5 stars!!!) and Dreamology by Lucy Keating (4 stars!!!). Hopefully, I will be posting reviews for both of these in the near future!

Okay, I’m about to fall asleep so I’m just going to wrap this up right now. I’ll be doing some sort of event wrap-up tomorrow, so stay tuned for that!


IMPORTANT NOTE: I will be updating this post throughout the entire read-a-thon, so be sure to check back later to see what I’m up to! I hope you guys are having a lovely day! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon! | April 2016

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Beach Reads! | Page By Paige

Leave a Reply

