Now Quoting: It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

248704.jpgIt’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Published by Miramax on May 1st 2007

Page Count: 444

Genre(s): YA, contemporary, mental health, humor, romance

Format: Paperback, purchased

Would I recommend? Yes, absolutely! This was a super honest, raw read, and really funny in a strange way. The writing is just gorgeous as well. 🙂 I will be writing a review on this one in the near future!

Rating: ★★★★☆


Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life – which means getting into the right high school to get into the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself.

Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety.

Ned Vizzini, who himself spent time in a psychiatric hospital, has created a remarkably moving tale about the sometimes unexpected road to happiness.

-Goodreads.com synopsis

I read this book a few months ago, and I absolutely loved it! The author himself experienced similar circumstances as the main character, Craig, had, and you could definitely tell by the realistic and honest portrayal of mental illness in this novel. I realize I’m extremely late to the party on this one as it was released almost 9 years ago, but better late than never, right? XD


“I know there may be universes out there where I made different choices and they led me somewhere else, led me to someone else. And my heart breaks for every single version of me that didn't end up with you.” 2.jpg

Although I’ve never experienced any circumstances like Ned Vizzini or Craig did, I’m still able to relate to this quote incredibly on a personal level. I don’t like book characters to be “perfect and ready to explode,” as Vizzini puts it; I like them screwed-up and realistic. Vizzini wasn’t afraid to capture these flawed, messed-up characters in his writing, which is a huge reason why I loved this story so much.


Have you read It’s Kind of A Funny Story? What did you think? Have you seen the movie? Have you read any books lately that you’ve found particularly quotable?

 

3 thoughts on “Now Quoting: It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

  1. …This is a movie, too? I don’t keep up with movies because I’m more of a “read the book” girl (that and my kids never really let me concentrate on a movie, haha).

    I read this book like a hundred times…it’s one of my favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

