Now Quoting: Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

18812437LET’S GET LOST BY ADI ALSAID

Published by Harlequin Teen on July 29th 2014

Genre(s): YA, contemporary, romance, coming of age

Format: Hardcover, library copy

Would I recommend? Yes. I wouldn’t say that it was a particularly memorable book or had a long-lasting effect on me, but it was definitely an enjoyable read and had a great concept and very unique and colorful cast of characters. Find my full review here. 

Rating: ★★★★☆


Five strangers. Countless adventures. One epic way to get lost.

Four teens across the country have only one thing in common: a girl named Leila. She crashes into their lives in her absurdly red car at the moment they need someone the most.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. And when Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila’s own 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth—sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way.

-Goodreads.com description


“I know there may be universes out there where I made different choices and they led me somewhere else, led me to someone else. And my heart breaks for every single version of me that didn't end up with you.”.png


Have you read Let’s Get Lost? What did you think? What are some books that you’ve found particularly quotable lately?

Advertisements

Review: Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

18812437.jpgLet’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Published by Harlequin Teen on July 29th 2014

Genre(s): YA, contemporary, romance, coming of age

Format: Hardcover, library copy

Would I recommend? Yes. I wouldn’t say that it was a particularly memorable book or had a long-lasting effect on me, but it was definitely an enjoyable read and had a great concept and very unique and colorful cast of characters.

Rating: ★★★★☆


Five strangers. Countless adventures. One epic way to get lost.

Four teens across the country have only one thing in common: a girl named Leila. She crashes into their lives in her absurdly red car at the moment they need someone the most.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. And when Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila’s own 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth—sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way.

-Goodreads.com description


My Thoughts

Let’s Get Lost had a lot of hype surrounding it before its release, and rightfully so. I was really looking forward to reading this book because of all the potential the unique concept held. I absolutely love road trip books (seeing the term “road trip” in a book’s synopsis is one of the most foolproof methods of getting me to check it out!), and you all know how big a fan I am of coming of age books. Plus, the idea that one person – in this case, Leila, the main character – could make such a big impact on the lives of four different people in a small amount of time is incredible to me – definitely something I wanted to read about.

I loved Leila. Although I’ve seen a lot of versions of her in many other YA books, her vibrant personality and sassy dialogue kept me engaged throughout the whole read. She’s outspoken, opinionated, caring, and hilarious – definitely someone who I would love to be friends with.

The other characters were great too. Their stories and backgrounds did all seem somewhat stereotyped and typical, but their personalities were all very unique and every one of them brought something new to the table. I found myself getting very emotionally engaged in each character’s individual story, only to have that part of the book end and move on to another character’s perspective. The endings of each character’s POV weren’t very satisfying because it seemed like the story was stopping before it even got started, which was pretty frustrating for me. I wish the author would have taken a little more time with each story so we would have gotten to know the characters better.

The author’s writing style is gorgeous, filled with lots of humor and engaging dialogue. I’ll definitely have to check out his other books!

Final Thought

A very unique and interesting concept, filled with humorous writing and colorful characters. Although I did have a couple minor issues with it, all in all it was a very enjoyable read and definitely something I’d recommend.

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars


Have you read Let’s Get Lost? What did you think? I’d love to hear what you guys have to say in the comments!

Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Published by Scholastic Press on September 18th 2012

Pages: 416

Genre(s): YA Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Source: Purchased

Rating: 3.5 stars

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

-Goodreads.com description

GUYS, I finally did it. I READ A MAGGIE STIEFVATER BOOK. Aren’t you proud of me? 😉

And I gave it 3.5 stars.

Not that that’s a bad rating or anything; it’s actually a really good rating for me. Everything was on point: the amazing writing style, the complex characters, the creative plot twists. My expectations were SO HIGH for this book, but unfortunately, my overall reaction didn’t live up to it.

The Characters: I loved the characters soooo much. They were all so complex and unique and flawed, and their thoughts and actions felt really believable and realistic to me. I especially loved and related to Blue, the main character, with all her personality quirks and emotions she felt throughout the story. I also really liked how Stiefvater gave each character a backstory, and described them well enough that I was able to picture them in my mind. The way she presented the characters felt like I could relate to all of them in one way or another, and that is a truly amazing concept.

The Plot: This sounded EXACTLY like the kind of book I would rate 5 stars. Everything in the synopsis sounded incredibly interesting! I mean, come on. Psychics, dead people, forbidden romance? Count me in!

It wasn’t that there was anything specifically wrong with the plot – it just felt really slow to me. I do have a pretty short attention span when it comes to books (or anything, really XD), and I just didn’t really get into this novel as much as I wanted to. Which is always really disappointing to me, because in my opinion, the best books are always the ones that make you really feel things, whether it’s hurt, joy, anger, or grief. And this book just didn’t deliver these feelings like I expected or wanted it to.

I was also really looking forward to the “forbidden romance” part of this book, which never really ended up happening. I guess there’s always the next book in the series, though….and the next…..and the next…..and, well, you get the idea. 😉

There were definitely positives, though – like the incredibly creative world-building. There were dozens of times while reading this that I stopped and wondered, How do people even come up with these things? I applaud Stiefvater for her creativity and originality when it came to the plot.

The Writing Style: I was seriously blown away when it came to the writing style in this book! I had heard so many amazing things about her writing, but I didn’t really understand it until now. Her descriptions were so vivid and imaginative, and I could picture everything in the book really clearly, which is pretty rare for me.

Quotes:

“My words are unerring tools of destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.”

***

“She wasn’t interested in telling other people’s futures. She was interested in going out and finding her own.”

***

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

***

“The way Gansey saw it was this: if you had a special knack for finding things, it meant you owed the world to look.”

Final Thought: Overall, I would definitely recommend this book, though I was a bit disappointed with the final product. I loved the writing style, the characters, and originality, but I wasn’t blown away by this book the way I wanted to be. Based on the review above, I would rate this book a solid 3.5 stars.

What were your thoughts on The Raven Boys? Was I really the only one who was left slightly disappointed? Does the series get better or worse as it goes on? Oh, and tell me: When does the romance happen? Let me know in the comments, and happy reading! 🙂

Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang


18163646 Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Published by Greenwillow Books on September 9th 2014

Pages: 304

Genre(s): YA Contemporary, Tough Subjects

Rating: 3.5 stars

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

-Goodreads.com description

Okay, before I begin, I’ll give you some time to read that last sentence again.

Yup, you read it right.

“…will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.”

Which are, like, three of my FAVORITE AUTHORS EVER. And their names are in the SAME SENTENCE.

Which means that it absolutely has to be one of my favorite books ever, right?!! Um…….

This book left me feeling SO CONFUSED! I was so torn on rating this one. Though I LOVED the writing style and the depth of the story, I didn’t like the main character at all!

Continue reading